Pioneer Woman Dress


I’m calling this my Pioneer Woman Dress. It makes me feel like I’m on a wagon train heading out into the unknown. The full, swishy skirt is my favorite part. I made this lace cardigan to wear with it, which perhaps detracts from the pioneer vibe. I love mixing textures, and I also love the high-low mix of the lace and plaid.

The dress fabric came from Fashion Fabrics Club. It is a very soft, floppy cotton/linen shirting. I had been looking for a plaid in this color combo for a while. The guipure lace is from Paron in New York. It is a fantastic quality, and it was a very good price. The last time I went there, though, it was sold out.

I sewed the cardigan with applique seams. For my previous foray into lace, I hand-stitched the whole thing. For this one, I thought I would try machine-sewing the applique seams, and it worked fine. There are actually kind of a lot of darts in this cardigan for shaping. It’s hard to tell, but I drafted the sleeve to balloon out a bit at the bicep, which required 2 darts per sleeve. I like the effect. The cardigan is trimmed with grosgrain at the neckline and I put 2 buttons on the inside at the waist, with corresponding button loops at the center front.

I have more of the lace, and I am going to post the cardigan on my Etsy shop.

.

Closeup of the lace

.

Dress back

.

Dress without cardigan

.

Detail of just the cardigan

.

8 Comments

  1. Posted March 7, 2011 at 5:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    amazing cardigan!

  2. Posted March 7, 2011 at 6:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The cardigan is lovely. It’s simple but elegant.

  3. J Lynn
    Posted March 7, 2011 at 9:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The lace jacket is stunning.

  4. Posted March 7, 2011 at 11:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Three words: Uh-may-zing!!! I love the lace cardigan especially. That lace looks so luxe. Love the dress too. Beautiful work.

  5. Posted March 8, 2011 at 2:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous cardigan! I like the funkiness of the dress, too. Very off the beaten path (or on it, I suppose, if the path is the Oregon Trail…–but really, I don’t think it’s too pioneer woman).

  6. Posted March 8, 2011 at 5:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m loving both pieces together! And I don’t think pioneer women looked this kewl! 🙂

  7. Posted March 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    lovely jacket and I love it with the dress 🙂

  8. Posted May 24, 2012 at 7:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    They are gorgeous together!

8 Trackbacks

  1. By Me Made March Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on March 31, 2011 at 10:49 am

    […] here. . black skirt blogged here, patchwork jacket, unblogged. . Plaid dress and lace cardigan blogged here. . Striped skirt, blogged here; print blouse, unblogged. . ruffled vest, blogged here; black […]

  2. By Me Made June Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on June 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    […] Plaid dress, blogged here. […]

  3. By GPOYW 12-12-2011 « Adventures in Couture on December 21, 2011 at 8:58 am

    […] Dress blogged here Cardigan from Brooks Brothers, purchased ages ago Boots from Via Spiga Scarf gifted to me from Karen. Thanks, Karen! Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was written by Claudine, posted on December 21, 2011 at 8:58 am, filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « GPOYW Textures […]

  4. By Christmas Nails « Adventures in Couture on December 23, 2011 at 9:45 am

    […] the red sparkle is Opi Gettin Miss Piggy With It. Plaid trousers blogged here; lace cardigan blogged here. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was written by Claudine, posted on […]

  5. By GPOYW — Theme Party « Adventures in Couture on January 25, 2012 at 7:28 am

    […] John Belushi and screen printed “College” on a black shirt. I’m wearing it with a lace cardigan and fur skirt (not […]

  6. By Me Made May 2012! « Adventures in Couture on May 31, 2012 at 9:05 am

    […] Plaid dress and lace cardigan, blogged here: https://couturearts.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/pioneer-woman-dress/ […]

  7. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:06 am

    […] blogged here cardigan blogged here shorts blogged […]

  8. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:04 am

    […] denim jacket with plaid linen dress […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*