Moths On My Fabric

IMG_3445

Have you seen the photos from the USGS Bee Inventory and Monitoring Lab? If you haven’t, and you planned on getting anything else done today, do not click on the link. If you do click on it, you will do nothing but look at bug photos all day. They are that good. And they are public domain!! I feel compelled to wear one.

My love affair with myfabricdesigns.com is continuing, and I concocted a moth print for my new fabric. I placed the design to print 2 moths per yard of 42″ silk/cotton fabric. I’ve been seeing a lot of big butterfly prints for spring, so here’s my interpretation of the trend.

The fabric is up for sale here, but what you should really do is click on the link in the first paragraph, find your own favorite bug, and order fabric with that one on it.

I was pretty careful with the layout of the print, because I had a specific skirt in mind and wanted to buy a minimum of fabric to make it. I chose the cotton-silk to print my moth because of the lovely sheen and softness of the fabric, as well as the color saturation achievable on this fabric. Then there is the added bonus that silk comes from moths (though almost certainly not the one in the photo). This skirt took 2 yards of the cotton-silk.

back view

back view

 

Jpeg

For the back pattern piece, I started with a piece of tracing paper that’s 24″ wide at the top, 29″ long at the center back, and 27″ long at the side seam. For the front pattern piece, I started with a rectangle that’s 24″ wide and 27″ long.

Jpeg

I took both pattern pieces and folded triangles out of them to add a bit of swing to the skirt. The top measurement was 14″ for each pattern piece.

I designed the fabric so I could buy 2 yards and get 4 whole moths. Because they moths overlap a bit, I broke one up. Here is one of the moths that I used on the back of the skirt, before stitching together.

I designed the fabric so I could buy 2 yards and get 4 whole moths. Because they moths overlap a bit, I broke one up. Here is one of the moths that I used on the back of the skirt, before stitching together.

Here's the seamed moth after stitching together.

Here’s the seamed moth after stitching together.

I gathered the skirt into a grosgrain ribbon waistband. There is a side zip.

I gathered the skirt into a grosgrain ribbon waistband. There is a side zip.

13 Comments

  1. Posted February 25, 2016 at 1:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love it and the inspiration, Claudine! I dare not click on the first link as I am at work. Then again, maybe I should…………

    • Posted February 25, 2016 at 2:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Go ahead! Share it with your colleagues, so no one gets anything done.

  2. S
    Posted February 25, 2016 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I absolutely love this. My uncle is an entomologist and his wife also keen on insects so I see a project coming…

    • Posted February 25, 2016 at 2:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! The photos are so amazing that there are all kinds of projects there.

  3. Posted February 25, 2016 at 2:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is so beautiful! And the moths are so huge.

    • Posted February 25, 2016 at 2:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! Yes, they are huge. The photo was super hi-res.

  4. Posted February 25, 2016 at 4:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Squeal!! I love that- very chichi on trend, you fancy girl!

    • Posted February 25, 2016 at 4:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I think I might be hitting this trend at just the right time.

  5. Posted February 25, 2016 at 5:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love this skirt.

    If you want to waste more time, browse the USGS Earth as Art Landsat image gallery.
    http://eros.usgs.gov/imagegallery

    NASA also has their own image gallery.
    https://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/imagegallery/index.html

    Copyright-free, high-res, FREE. I print them out at Costco to decorate my condo.

    I also follow USGS on Twitter. Big time suck, but geodata is my job…

  6. Posted February 26, 2016 at 1:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m not much for bugs but this is so cool. I love it!

  7. Posted February 26, 2016 at 8:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very pretty!

  8. Beth (SunnyGal Studio)
    Posted February 29, 2016 at 3:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Claudine – that is so cool. I love natural and botanical prints and am looking forward to see what else you come up with. I’m also playing around with the fabric design and have some questions on how you were able to make it that large, if you don’t mind can you email me? thanks, Beth

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*