Arboretum in Winter

IMG_3293

Have you heard of myfabricdesigns.com? It’s a new service for printing fabrics on demand. They contacted me a month or so ago and asked if I would like to try their service. I love designing prints, and it’s been ages since I’ve done one, so I decided to give it a go. It was a total blast.

I went to a local park (the Reeves Reed Arboretum), and took photos of the dormant vegetation and goldfish. I love plants at all times of year, but winter may be my favorite. Then I went home and manipulated the photos on my computer to come up with my final print. My favorite florals are ones the look a little creepy, so I centered my print around a skull motif.

I uploaded it and waited for what seemed like an excruciatingly long time (but was really only a little over a week), and my print arrived at my door! It is everything I hoped it would be. The colors are really vibrant. They came through my prewash really well, and the fabric ironed up nicely. I’ve already cut out my project and started sewing. I bought the linen-cotton canvas to make a menswear-style blazer.

I could also see this print looking fantastic in activewear. I may buy more in a knit to make a hoodie at some point.

The print is up for sale in their marketplace. For more details, you can click on the link in the sidebar, or click here to purchase.

This is going to be the back of my jacket.  I re-drafted this pattern piece to eliminate the back seam so the skull can rest between my shoulder blades.

This is going to be the back of my jacket. I re-drafted this pattern piece to eliminate the back seam so the skull can rest between my shoulder blades.

This is what 3 yards of it looks like hanging on my washline.

This is what 3 yards of it looks like hanging on my washline.

6 Comments

  1. Posted January 18, 2016 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is so awesome! I love your vision and how awesome this is going to look in a finished garment.

    • Posted January 18, 2016 at 12:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks, Carolyn. This has been such a fun exercise.

  2. Anke
    Posted January 18, 2016 at 1:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How cool is this! Looking forward to seeing the finished blazer.

  3. teapot_rabbit
    Posted January 18, 2016 at 1:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I did not know about myfabricdesigns.com before reading this, and now I’m trying to find other reviews and being frustrated because their name is impossible to search.

    Have you ever tried fabrics from Spoonflower, and if so, can you speak to how the quality compares between the two services? Thanks. 🙂

    • Posted January 18, 2016 at 2:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I have used Spoonflower, and I have no complaints about them. I am also pleased with MyFabricDesigns. In order to do a fair comparison, I would have to order the same print on the same ground fabric from both places, then treat them identically to compare results. I’m obviously not going to do that because I have other things going on in my life. That said, it appears to me that the color saturation on this print from MyFabricDesigns is better than the saturation on the Spoonflower prints that I have ordered in the past.

      I imagine that I am not the only blogger that MyFabricDesigns contacted, so there might be more about them in the blogosphere soon.

  4. Posted January 20, 2016 at 6:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I could waste hours on that website! Thanks for introducing it to me (I think). :). As always, your creativity blows me away. Can’t wait to see how this turns out.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Creepy Floral « Rolling in Cloth on January 29, 2016 at 3:15 pm

    […] « Arboretum in Winter […]

  2. By Creepy Floral « Rolling in Cloth on January 29, 2016 at 3:15 pm

    […] « Arboretum in Winter […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*