Angel Wing and Unicorn Mane

IMG_2416

This sweatshirt started when I picked up the latest issue of Ottobre at my local Barnes and Noble. A Facebook friend of mine posted that they are selling Ottobre at B&N now. I want to encourage this kind of thing, so I went there and bought it. One of the patterns in the mag is a short sleeved sweatshirt, which reminded me of the short sleeved sweatshirt that I had in seventh grade that made me feel SO COOL. I thought about making it for my daughter, but, well, she’s not me. And I like to think I’m not one of those parents who lives through my kids. So, I thought about it and decided that it might work for me. I looked in my fabric closet for a good knit, and this soft woven remnant caught my eye. It just might be the most amazing fabric I’ve ever felt. The cut was a lot less than a yard, and the fiber was not marked. I think the fiber content is 50% unicorn mane and 50% angel wing feathers.

I took the Ottobre pattern and made the largest size, 170. I did an FBA, and it works for me!

For the decorative stitching, I used silk thread doubled in the bobbin, and stitched from the wrong side.

back

back

front neckline

front neckline

back neckline

back neckline

sleeve hem

sleeve hem

side view

side view

silk thread for decorative stitching.  I doubled the thread, wrapped it around the bobbin, and stitched from the wrong side

silk thread for decorative stitching. I doubled the thread, wrapped it around the bobbin, and stitched from the wrong side

The issue of Ottobre with the pattern that I based this garment on.

The issue of Ottobre with the pattern that I based this garment on.

16 Comments

  1. sunnlitt
    Posted June 16, 2015 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Could you explain what you mean by “doubling the thread”?
    And, how you actually put that doubled thread onto the bobbin?
    I would love a clearer explanation than the one that is bumbling about in my brain!
    Thanks,
    rebecca

    • Posted June 16, 2015 at 2:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

      First, I figure out approximately how much thread I need, and pull 2 equal lengths off the spool of orange silk thread. I take both lengths, and, holding them together side by side, wind the bobbin with them by hand. Then, when I put the bobbin in the machine, the top thread will catch both bobbin threads at the same time, making a thicker line of orange. You can also do this with 2 different colored threads for a variegated effect. The machine is threaded at the top with regular cotton thread.

      • sunnlitt
        Posted June 16, 2015 at 6:04 pm | Permalink

        Thank you so much for your reply. This sounds like a lot of work, but I am sure that the effects can be worth the effort.
        I will have to play(always a fun thing to do!) with this technique a bit and find out how I can apply it to my own sewing.
        Thanks again, and, by the way, your shirt is lovely.

  2. Posted June 16, 2015 at 6:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is really beautiful, and of course, it’s all in the details. I love the choices you’ve made.

  3. Posted June 16, 2015 at 9:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I chuckled at your comment about sewing, or not, for your daughter. Mine daughter is now 20 and for about the past 10 years there has never been a guarantee that she will like/wear what I sew for her.

  4. Posted June 17, 2015 at 4:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Cute sweatshirt. I may be being dense but, what was the reason u used the decorative thread on the bobbin and stitched from the wrong side? Other than ensuring u’be caught all of the hem I can’t work out why this would be useful. I love the decorative stitching though, especially the sleeve hems. Adorable

    • Posted June 17, 2015 at 9:40 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! Re putting the decorative thread in the bobbin: sewing machines are made to work with a very specific kind of thread. If you try to thread the top with any other kind of thread, you are just asking for trouble. Glossy silk thread slips through the tension discs like a ninja. Embroidery floss and yarn are too thick to get through the needle. Metallic thread frays under any stress at all. Even if you have an embroidery machine, it’s calibrated to work with machine embroidery thread, and that’s it. So, if you want to work with a different thread, putting it in the bobbin and stitching from the wrong side is an easy way to do it.

      Here’s a sampling of other projects that I’ve done using bobbinwork

      • Posted June 17, 2015 at 9:52 am | Permalink

        Ahhhh! Thanks for that. Makes sense and I’ve learnt something. 🙂

  5. Carla Fiedler
    Posted June 17, 2015 at 5:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great looking top; love the finishing details. Learned something new with you explanation about using specialty threads in the bobbin, thanks!

  6. Posted June 21, 2015 at 9:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    First can I tell you that I’m so copying that topstitching technique! I love how it criss crosses. The sweatshirt is cute! I can see you in this now looking very cool.

    • Posted June 22, 2015 at 8:29 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks. The cris cross is just me being lazy, and wanting to sew the 2 rows of topstitching in one pass. Then when I looked at it at the back neckline, I thought it looked nice, so I put it on the outside of the sleeve. I probably should have pointed this out in the actual blog post, but oh, well.

  7. Posted June 22, 2015 at 6:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love, love, love that topstitching! I use heavy cotton denim jeans thread in my bobbin and sew that way too…so nice and chunky without even changing the needle or top thread! Never have tried using double thread but I have loads of cotton quilting thread that will never be used and it might just have to fill up a bobbin or two for a new technique…thanks so much, Claudine!

  8. Posted August 19, 2015 at 6:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think you will still feel cool wearing this 🙂

  9. Sarah
    Posted October 24, 2015 at 7:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s still cool! Is it hard to do an FBA for raglan sleeves?

    • Posted October 24, 2015 at 9:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

      No, it’s not hard. It’s pretty much the same as for a set in sleeve.

      • Sarah Turnbull
        Posted October 30, 2015 at 2:30 am | Permalink

        Oh good, I’ll give it a shot in that case!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*