Completed Batik Trousers

.
Tadaa! These trousers are not bad for my first try at batik. I’m still not sure if I like the way the batik design turned out. See this post and read the comments for a little info on my batiking process. I may dye over it when the wax wears off after a few washes. I like the shape of the trousers, and I’ve learned enough about batik to be fairly certain that my next batik project will be more like what I originally envision. This project is a qualified success.

The pattern is Burdastyle 2/2012 104. Since it is only January 2012 at this point, this qualifies as a pattern from the future, but it really reminds me of a design from my past. Specifically, my favorite trousers from 1988. High, cut-on waist, pleats, narrow hem. The high waist is so different from any other trousers that I currently own that it may take some getting used to.

The fabric is a very beefy silk twill. It started out white.

back view

Waist detail on the trousers. The pattern is Burdastyle 2/2012 104.

The process. That's a tjanting tool.

This is my wax heating setup. Surprisingly, my house did not burn down.

7 Comments

  1. Posted January 27, 2012 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think it’s important that your house didn’t burn down! *smile* It is an interesting effect. Will you do this again?

    • Posted January 27, 2012 at 11:02 am | Permalink | Reply

      I intend to do it again, but not until summer when I can do it outside.

  2. Posted January 27, 2012 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love your pants! Can’t wait to see your further adventures with batik.

  3. Sewista Fashionista
    Posted January 27, 2012 at 11:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    Silk twill – it must feel incredible! It sounds lovely. Anything I did with a candle and a soda can would probably burn down my house. This was really neat adventurous project. 😉

  4. Posted January 27, 2012 at 12:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those turned out really cute! Very original and the silk is lovely to wear.

  5. Posted January 30, 2012 at 9:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    I just love all the sartorial research you do. It’s awesome!

  6. Posted February 1, 2012 at 5:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You are so adventurous! I look forward to hearing more about batik.

One Trackback

  1. By Batik Scarf « Adventures in Couture on July 28, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    […] that came out pretty well. It’s my second try with batik, and it came out much better than my first try! The fabric is a silk/cotton organdy. It’s very light and sheer, and took the wax well. One of […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*