Ombre Plaid


This dress has a bit of a 90’s grunge feel, with mix of plaid and purposely messy dye. It’s made of a cotton plaid flannel, dyed to make it a bit more interesting. The fabric is very soft and fluffy. The pattern is Vogue 1220, which millions of others in the sewing blogosphere have also made. It’s a nice design. I was a bit afraid that the tapered skirt would be too narrow, but I’ve been wearing it all day and have not had to shorten my stride for it. The waist on the dress is very high. The belt that I’m wearing with it is around the bottom of my rib cage.

The pattern does not call for a lining, but I added one because unlined dresses just feel unfinished to me. I did a tutorial on the dye effect in the previous post, if you are interested.

back view

side view

inside view. I lined it with blue china silk

dye effect

10 Comments

  1. Posted February 7, 2012 at 2:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OMG, I love it. Absolutely love it. I have to try that dye trick.

  2. Posted February 7, 2012 at 3:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Utterly gorgeous. The ombre dying is a technique I’ve been seeing everywhere, and always want to try!

    Garnet

  3. Posted February 7, 2012 at 6:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love the ombre dye over the plaid. And the dress looks wonderful on you.

  4. Posted February 7, 2012 at 9:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh yes. thank you for thinking of it, and then executing.

  5. Shams
    Posted February 7, 2012 at 9:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice. I like how you’ve styled it with the burgundy top underneath.

  6. Elaray
    Posted February 8, 2012 at 8:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    That looks great! The burgundy top is perfect!

  7. Posted February 8, 2012 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Uniquely, beautiful. I really like the affect of the Ombre dye. Thanks for sharing your technique.

  8. Posted February 17, 2012 at 10:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, i love that dress. The ombre dye on the plaid fabric is awesome. Great work!

  9. Posted May 24, 2012 at 7:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I wish this dress was in my wardrobe! Beautiful!!!

  10. Posted November 27, 2014 at 6:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Claudine! I am just getting started with dyeing and sat straight up in bed the other night as I suddenly remembered this gorgeous dress! Took awhile to find it but I did. Thank you so much for the videos, they are incredibly helpful.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Ombre Dyeing « Adventures in Couture on February 8, 2012 at 9:05 am

    […] Adventures in Couture Where you can see what is coming out of my sewing room Skip to content About « GPOYW Ombre Plaid » […]

  2. By Me Made May 2012! « Adventures in Couture on May 31, 2012 at 9:05 am

    […] Ombre dress blogged here: https://couturearts.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/ombre-plaid/ […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*