GPOYW — Theme Party

This is a good photo. Normally, I hate photos of me where I'm looking at the camera, especially if I'm smiling. This one came out well. I suppose it helps that I piled on the warpaint.


I love the challenge of getting dressed for a theme party. This one was college themed, and guests were supposed to wear something from their university. These parameters are a bit problematic for me for 3 reasons.
1. I don’t own anything with the name of my university
2. My one unbreakable rule of dressing is that I never wear anything with a logo on it.
3. The university that I attended has recently become infamous, and I was pretty sure I did not want to listen to Sandusky jokes all evening long.

So I took a fashion cue from John Belushi and screen printed “College” on a black shirt. I’m wearing it with a lace cardigan and fur skirt (not pictured).

This photo was taken on Saturday evening.

7 Comments

  1. Posted January 25, 2012 at 9:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love the styling around the college shirt. Genius!

  2. Posted January 25, 2012 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love it- so subtle. I am not a logo gal either- this is perfect!

  3. Posted January 25, 2012 at 10:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    ha! And here I thought I was the only PSU alumni on earth to not own a single piece of clothing with the brand on it (the whole idea of a university as a “brand” or “business” or “logo” just strikes me as deeply weird anyway, recent scandal notwithstanding).

    I like your alternative approach much better.

  4. LinB
    Posted January 25, 2012 at 11:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! “College” theme was brilliantly captured by your creation. I agree with your no-logo philosophy: If someone wants me to wear their logo on my clothing, THEY can pay ME to do so.

  5. Shams
    Posted January 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very clever. And, I agree, that is a fabulous picture of you.

  6. Posted January 25, 2012 at 4:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yes, smart indeed!
    And a wonderful photograph.

  7. Posted January 25, 2012 at 4:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It is a great picture of you. Clever way to incorporate the University logo into the required party attire. I attended that institution too. I do wear clothes with logos when attending home football games.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*