Tablecloth Ball Skirt

.

This embellished silk organza fabric leaped off the fabric store shelf and into my arms screaming “Ball Skirt!” It’s been in my collection for several months, and I figured it is now the time of year to make it up. I pretty much never go to parties 11 months of the year, then in December, all of my friends invite me over for drinks. Such is life in the suburbs. I have several dresses to wear to these things, but most of my clothes are memorable, so it’s nice to have at least one new item to wear. Enter the ball skirt.

I was originally going to gather a huge rectangle at the waist and be done with it, but I was hemming and hawing about that. Having lots of gathers at the waist is really not the most flattering look.

I thought about a circle skirt, but I find the random seaming on circle skirts too distracting. Then there are the 1950’s connotations. Not my thing.

Then Shams at Communing with Fabric did a post and tutorial about a “tablecloth skirt”. It seemed like the perfect solution to my dilemma. There is also some discussion at Stitcher’s Guild if you are interested.

I really love the result. It’s just what I was looking for for this fabric. I lined it with some silk with a bit of metallic. I added a plain elastic waist, since I’ll never want to tuck anything into this skirt. It is floor length on me, so it’s a bit longer than the one Shams made.

I finished the whole thing in one day. DD is sick this week, so I have lots of time to hang out in the house and sew while she sleeps and watches TV.

front

back

Side view

12 Comments

  1. Posted December 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it. What a pretty fabric and that pattern is the perfect use for it.

  2. Posted December 2, 2011 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Truly pretty!

  3. Shams
    Posted December 2, 2011 at 12:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It is so gorgeous out of that interesting fabric!

  4. joan71
    Posted December 2, 2011 at 12:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a lovely rendition. Perfect for a wonderful party ensemble.

  5. Posted December 2, 2011 at 4:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Perfect for cocktails.

  6. Posted December 2, 2011 at 4:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is a fabulous version of the skirt. The silk organza is a beautiful fabric for it.

  7. Rosie
    Posted December 2, 2011 at 4:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Absolutely elegant/beautiful skirt!

  8. Posted December 3, 2011 at 10:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love the skirt, and thank you so much for pointing out the tutorial. I’m going to have to give that a try!

  9. Sharon
    Posted December 3, 2011 at 4:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine – what a fabulous seamstress you are!!! I continue to learn from you.

  10. Posted December 5, 2011 at 7:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very lovely! Now I need to make one too..

  11. carmel
    Posted May 7, 2013 at 12:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    Just love your skirt would like to know what length you cut to make it so long

    • Posted May 7, 2013 at 10:50 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! It’s been a while since I made that skirt. It’s maybe 36″ long.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*