Attire for Uncertain Times

I am totally feeling this dress. The excessive length. The cloudy non-color. The loose fit. The square neckline. The humble weave of the fabric. It makes me feel secure.

Above is a photo with the belt I’m planning to wear it with. I bought the belt a while ago, when I lived in the US, and now it’s much too big for me. It took me an inordinately long time to realize that I can just take some of the links out and it will be smaller! Hopefully, when I move back to America and drift back to my American weight, I’ll be able to find the links so I can still wear this belt.

Yes, I am moving back to America in next month. I’m a little sad about leaving London, and am experiencing all the normal feelings of upset that accompany any move. We still have our house in New Jersey, so at least I know where we’ll be moving to.

Anyway, back to the dress. The dress fabric is silk, woven in almost a burlap weave. I think I bought it at Paron Annex last summer. I added some embroidery at the neckline and near the hem, using a set of embroidery silk that I bought at a sewing expo last fall.

front unbelted

back

I lined it with some silk taffeta left over from another project. Silk is so useful.

I hand-embroidered chevrons on the bodice and skirt.

This is the pattern I used, from a Japanese book, ISBN4-309-28062-5.

This is the embroidery thread I used. It came beautifully packaged, and like most things that are beautifully presented, it cost a small fortune. It’s nice to have someone else match my colors for me, though.

One Comment

  1. Posted May 17, 2010 at 3:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Claudine for sending me the link to your dress. I had a great time talking with you this weekend. I have been reading your blog for quite a while now, but mostly lurking since you are so much more accomplished than me. I hope we can meet up again soon. Let me know if you come into the city for shopping — I’m always up for that. 😉

    I so want to make this dress now.

5 Trackbacks

  1. By PR Weekend Diary | noile dot net on May 17, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    […] embroiders.  Really, really well.  What you can’t see clearly on this dress (although there’s a close up on her blog, and a larger image available) are the beautifully worked and placed chevrons at the bodice and […]

  2. […] Hand embroidered dress, blogged here […]

  3. By Me Made March Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on March 31, 2011 at 10:48 am

    […] blogged here. . Lavender jeans blogged here; sparkly hoodie blogged here. . Embroidered dress, blogged here . Short sleeve jacket, blogged here; zebra print skirt, unblogged. . Velvet trousers, blogged here […]

  4. By Me Made June Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on June 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    […] Embroidered dress, blogged here […]

  5. By Me Made May 2012! « Adventures in Couture on May 31, 2012 at 9:04 am

    […] Hand-embroidered dress blogged here: https://couturearts.wordpress.com/2009/06/15/attire-for-uncertain-times/ […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*