Fall Floral

floral-blouse-0939

My fall sewing list includes a floral blouse. A couple of weeks ago, during Peter’s MPB Day, I purchased an autumnal floral from Chic fabrics. It’s a cotton-lycra blend.

The collar came from a blouse in Burdastyle 9/14. Unfortunately, the blouse, as drafted, has a peplum. I don’t have anything against peplums, per se, but waistline seams make my skin crawl. I just hate them. So, I frankenpatterned the collar onto another Burstyle blouse, this one being a princess seam, raglan sleeve blouse. The sleeve is super narrow, which works because my fabric has a lot of stretch to it. I like the tunic length, since I want to wear it under big sweaters and have it peek out the bottom.

I also made a black denim A-line skirt, which is something I have been wanting for a while. It’s a pretty basic design. I lined it in self fabric, and stiffened the hem with several rows of decorative stitching.

back view

back view

center front detail.  There are only 2 buttons.

center front detail. There are only 2 buttons.

skirt hem detail.  I stitched it using decorative thread in the bobbin.

skirt hem detail. I stitched it using decorative thread in the bobbin.

6 Comments

  1. Carolyn
    Posted August 25, 2014 at 6:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a great back to school item!

  2. Posted August 25, 2014 at 9:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the style and the fabric – perfect for Fall…
    Good job!

  3. Posted August 25, 2014 at 10:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Lovely. I’m nuts for small floral fabrics, and this one’s gorgeous. Enjoy wearing it!

  4. Posted August 25, 2014 at 10:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love what you did with your coordinates esp the muted fall colors you chose for them. I can see each worn with many of your other creations. Always enjoy seeing them!

  5. Posted August 25, 2014 at 2:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love your tunic, Claudine. The fabric is gorgeous.

  6. Posted October 9, 2014 at 10:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is gorgeous, I love it!!!
    I think we have similar taste, please check out my blog if you get a chance: http://www.jillianhollmann.com/blog
    Thanks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

