Layers and Layers and Layers

layers-9092

Originally, this textured silk gazar fabric put me in the mind of a cocktail dress. It’s been in my stash for well over a year, but I could never really get my head around making a fancy dress that I might wear once or twice. But recently, I looked at it and thought about what a great skirt it would make. It does, indeed, make a great skirt.

The skirt is in three layers. The navy silk gazar is on top. Next is a fuchsia silk organza. At the bottom is a white silk crepe, which adds some opacity, trimmed with mint green lace, which looks nice under the sheer organza.

The waist sits at my natural waist, with a straight waistband. I interfaced it with ban-roll, which is wonderfully stiff. There’s an invisible zip and a hook and eye closure.

back view

back view

closeup of the silk gazar with sheer floral motif

closeup of the silk gazar with sheer floral motif

Here's my hand between the navy layer and the fuchsia layer

Here’s my hand between the navy layer and the fuchsia layer

hem detail

hem detail

hem detail (middle layer)

hem detail (middle layer)

hem detail (lining layer)

hem detail (lining layer)

9 Comments

  1. elke
    Posted March 9, 2014 at 10:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    Just beautiful! Such an inspiring use of the “fancy” fabrics that tempt us. How will you wear this?

    • Posted March 9, 2014 at 10:55 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I would wear this skirt with a summer blouse (like this one) or even a t-shirt on any given day.

  2. Posted March 9, 2014 at 1:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So pretty! Love such a wearable piece in such gorgeous fabric.

  3. Posted March 9, 2014 at 8:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is so lovely and so you! I love how you incorporate “dressy” fabrics into your everyday life!

  4. Lydia
    Posted March 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Did you do a lot of hand sewing? I can hardly see stitching pricks in most of the hem close-ups. The skirt is beautiful and under magnification it’s a work of art.

    • Posted March 10, 2014 at 8:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I am particularly skilled at hand sewing.

  5. Posted March 12, 2014 at 12:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s lovely Claudine. You always come up with interesting pieces that are definitely more than the some of it’s parts. Will you wear this for everyday or for going out?

    • Posted March 12, 2014 at 12:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! This will be mostly for every day, but I would certainly consider wearing it for a special occasion.

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted March 20, 2014 at 12:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous. I just love your eye for color and texture.

One Trackback

  1. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:05 am

    […] layered skirt and seersucker blouse ============================================================= […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

