Look, Ma, No Seams!

knit-skirt-9083

Several years ago, while shopping at a fancy store, I came across a skirt by the designer Alaia that was beautifully shaped: fitted and flippy all at once. When I took a closer look, I realized that this shape was achieved with no seams, which seemed to me to be nothing short of magic. I filed this away for future reference. Then a few months ago, my husband came home from the thrift shop with 12 skeins of rayon ribbon yarn. I set it aside for awhile, then realized that this yarn has a similar consistency to the Alaia skirt. So I signed up for a class at my local yarn shop, (Wool and Grace), and made my own.

I did not use a pattern. I started from the top down. At the waist, I knit until the circle measured the same as my waist measurement. Then I put increases pretty much where the darts would go to get the hip to measure what my hip measurement is. Then I knit straight for a few inches, then put increases every 100 stitches, then every 90 stitches, then every 80 stitches as I approached the hem.

It was a lot of work, but I learned a lot and I like the result. If I were to do this again, I would make it a bit more flared, but I will definitely wear it.

on the form

on the form

increases at the back

increases at the back

ribbon yarn

ribbon yarn

elastic threaded through the ribbing at the waist.

elastic threaded through the ribbing at the waist.

8 Comments

  1. Posted February 25, 2014 at 2:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is beautiful! I’m an admirer of Azzedine Alaia too, I’ve been sitting before one of his dresses in a Dutch museum for a few hours. Could not believe my eyes, amazing construction, such beautiful lines. Thanks for posting your skirt, inspired by this genius designer!

  2. Dilliander
    Posted February 25, 2014 at 4:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Such a lovely designer skirt, from no pattern and thrifted yarn. Definitely a winner, its gorgeous.

  3. Posted February 26, 2014 at 12:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    You’ve overachieved again. First knitting projects are rarely this fantastic. And kudos to Bernie for finding this yarn.

  4. Posted March 5, 2014 at 1:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Holy cow! I can’t believe you went from knitting a mini whale to this as your next project. How awesome! (I may have to steal this idea.)

  5. Posted March 7, 2014 at 11:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine: two words, knitting machine. Come and have a look at the fun I’ve been having with mine! You’d have a ball too I bet.

    • Posted March 7, 2014 at 12:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      You know I’ve been coveting one! And be careful what you wish for. I’m liable to show up on your doorstep one of these days.

      • Posted March 7, 2014 at 11:48 pm | Permalink

        Really? How cool!

One Trackback

  1. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:05 am

    […] silk top with handknit skirt […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

