The Elizabeth Dress

elizabeth-dress-8089

This dress reminds me very much of something Elizabeth would make. She is a deft hand with the knit print. It is also the second dress in a row I’ve made with a 1940’s reference. I think my previous dress actually looks more 1940’s, but this one was made with a Vintage Vogue reprint pattern. Initially, I was planning on making a DVF-style wrap dress, but then I was looking through my patterns, found this one, and knew I had my project.

The pattern is designed for a woven, so I took it in a bit to accommodate the knit. Also, the knit was a bit thin, and I am always cold, so I underlined it with some wicking knit that I’ve had lying about for a dog’s age.

This dress was rather arduous to cut out. First, it is cut in a single layer, which had me wishing for a larger cutting table. Then, I had to baste and cut the underlining pieces. I’m glad the construction was quick, so it was pretty much done by the time it was cut out.

I bought the fabric at Elliot Berman Textiles during the Pattern Review party. I love that store, but I normally don’t get a chance to shop there because it is not open on weekends. The party was a total blast. If you are in the area, you need to get on Deepika’s mailing list so you get invited to the next one. You can read about it here, here, here, here, or here. It’s all true. It was not really a shopping event, but I could not stop myself.

Anyway, I think my new dress will be good to wear to my holiday parties this year.

the pattern I used

the pattern I used

midriff

midriff

back

back

front

front

I underlined it in wicking fabric for warmth

I underlined it in wicking fabric for warmth

26 Comments

  1. Posted November 20, 2013 at 2:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous combination of pattern and print.

  2. Posted November 20, 2013 at 3:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s beautiful Claudine! I love the motif placement! It’s a very good idea to use jersey on vintage patterns.

  3. Posted November 20, 2013 at 5:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    Great use of a modern fabric to update a vintage style. I’m sure you will get lots of compliments when you wear this!

  4. Shams
    Posted November 20, 2013 at 6:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    GORGEOUS, Claudine! What a beautiful use of the print. I don’t remember that pattern, but it’s a stunner.

  5. Posted November 20, 2013 at 6:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Absolutely beautiful with terrific fabric placement!

  6. Posted November 20, 2013 at 6:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, I love what you did with the print

  7. Posted November 20, 2013 at 8:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! You knocked it out of the park with this one. I also love Elliot Berman. Oh, the regrets I have of fabrics I didn’t buy when I had the chance!

  8. Posted November 20, 2013 at 10:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    It is stunning, a really spot-on (pun intended…!) use of this fabric. So satisfying when all the elements come together in one garment like this. Kudos and congratulations!

  9. Elizabeth
    Posted November 20, 2013 at 11:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    LOVE my new dress! When can I expect it in the mail? haha. That pattern is awesome. I totally glossed over it when I saw the release. Now I might have to get it. Really great use of the print which is tdf! Can’t wait to try it on.

    • Posted November 20, 2013 at 12:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Ummm, I was thinking I would hold it here for you. Just to be on the safe side.

  10. carrotflowers
    Posted November 20, 2013 at 11:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    wow, incredible job! beautifully done.

  11. carrotflowers
    Posted November 20, 2013 at 11:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    wow, incredible job! What a beautiful dress.

  12. Rosie
    Posted November 20, 2013 at 12:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Another beautiful dress. Absolutely love the placement of the print.

  13. Posted November 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Swooon. It actually looks pretty cool inside out, too.

  14. Posted November 20, 2013 at 2:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is seriously beautiful.

  15. Posted November 20, 2013 at 2:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You have the BEST way about pattern placement. I am seriously going to call you the next time I have a directional print to work with.

    • Posted November 20, 2013 at 5:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Please do, but prepare for frustration. I have a ridiculous amount of trouble getting others to see my vision using only words.

  16. Posted November 20, 2013 at 3:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What beautiful lines and details this dress has! Beautiful! I love the idea of lining with wicking fabric – I’m always stumped about what to line knits with.

  17. Posted November 21, 2013 at 11:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Brilliant idea to make this in a knit! I have the pattern but haven’t gotten around to it because it’s hard to envision a fluid fabric that isn’t too dressy for work. Knit is the perfect solution. Love this dress.

  18. Posted November 21, 2013 at 3:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is really really nice, and as everyone mentioned before, perfect pattern placement!
    (I do wonder what wicking fabric is, though)

    I guess you are really making lovely cake and are topping it off with a bit of frosting, too (sewingwise, that is, maybe I’m getting carried away here with the metaphor, sorry.)

    • Posted November 21, 2013 at 5:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! Wicking fabric is polyester knit that is normally used for workout clothes. I’m sure you’ve seen it.

  19. Posted November 23, 2013 at 10:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Okay when were you shopping? Cause all I could think is that I have to make some time one day and get back to Elliot Berman’s because I needed a fix! Oh yeah, the dress is stunning and the pattern placement perfection. But honestly I wouldn’t have expected any less from you! This will make a great holiday party dress!

    • Posted November 23, 2013 at 10:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I totally had to sneak away when no one was looking to purchase something.

  20. Michelle
    Posted August 21, 2016 at 8:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    How can I get a pattern like that? I love it!

    • Posted August 21, 2016 at 9:00 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! How annoying that I did not photograph the pattern number. I’ll see if I can find the pattern and get back to you in the next week or so. My patterns are a mess.

    • Posted August 21, 2016 at 6:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

      THe pattern number is 2354. It should be fairly easy to find on ebay.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

