The Semi-Annual Slipper Project

slippers-8079

Every couple of years, my slippers start to fall apart and I need to make a new pair. It’s a pretty quick project, especially compared to the countless hours I used to spend trying to find an acceptable pair of slippers to buy. This year, I made more of a ballet-slipper style, which is a departure from slippers I’ve made in the past. I made the pattern by tracing my foot and guesstimating.

They are made from home dec velvet, lined in cashmere, insoles from repurposed old cashmere socks, elastic behind the heel, leather outsoles from a thrifted leather jacket.

top view

top view

leather soles

leather soles

this is what my old slippers look like.  They get a lot of wear.

this is what my old slippers look like. They get a lot of wear.

This is what my old slippers looked like 2 years ago, when I first made them

This is what my old slippers looked like 2 years ago, when I first made them

4 Comments

  1. Posted November 19, 2013 at 7:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have never considered making slippers. Yours look great so I may have a go! Enjoy your new, very regal looking slippers 🙂

    • Posted November 19, 2013 at 8:56 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! You should try it. This is perhaps the fourth pair I’ve made. The very first pair were not right at all, but I learned from them and all subsequent pairs came out really well.

  2. LindaC
    Posted November 19, 2013 at 11:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the idea of making slippers. What to use for the outer-sole was always a concern. Yours are cute.

    • Posted November 19, 2013 at 1:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

      The leather for the outer sole came from my Best Tag Sale Find Ever. It was bag day at the tag sale, and there was a mens big and tall size leather coat hanging there, absolutely filthy. I thought, “Why not?” and stuffed it in my bag. I brought it home, ran it through the washing machine, rubbed it with hand lotion to soften it up, and cut it up to use when I need some leather. I keep hoping I’ll come across another one like it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

