Curtains For Me!

curtains-7615

It’s time to get the furniture re-upholstered. Actually, it’s way past time. Somehow, my kids got the idea that jumping on the living room furniture is perfectly acceptable behavior, so you can imagine what said furniture looks like now that the aforementioned kids are 7 and 9 years old. So anyway, I’ve been paralyzed with indecision trying to find fabrics that I will want to look at for the next ten years for 2 sofas, a loveseat, and a chair.

Several years ago, I attended a Warehouse Sale at Pollack, and I was blown away by the quality of their offerings. I bought a couple of things, but not much because they don’t have a whole lot that would be good for garments. While I was there, I and a lovely conversation with someone that I took to be the owner. He showed me his amazing goods, and told me everything about the fabric, sometimes including the names of the master weavers who wove it. This stuck with me, so I went to their web site looking for furniture fabrics, got distracted and overwhelmed, and wound up purchasing this lovely curtain fabric. I bought my house 12 years ago, and I still had the curtains that came with the place. I have always hated them. I am SO EXCITED about my new curtains! They remind me a bit of this skirt that I made a while back.

Oh, most of the goods at Pollack are “to the trade”, but there’s a warehouse sale section where you can buy mill ends as an individual.

After I finished the curtains, I did manage to identify fabrics that I want for my furniture, so it will get done soon.

curtains-7614

Here's the curtain with the shade drawn behind it.

Here’s the curtain with the shade drawn behind it.

All three curtains

All three curtains

8 Comments

  1. akismet-21b053fec805c8711a1f608da8cdd26a
    Posted October 25, 2013 at 1:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ooooh, they look so luxe! Love them.

    Elizabeth
    http://www.sewnblog.com

  2. Posted October 25, 2013 at 2:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Lovely glamourous curtains! I can imagine that they would look lovely when the morning sun streams in through the transparent stripes and equally glam at night when the room lights reflect on the golden stripes!

  3. Posted October 25, 2013 at 8:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    The fabric for the curtains is gorgeous. I’m on a journey of decorating-for-the-first-time-the-way-I-like-it in my house after 17 yrs of living in it. Isn’t the decorating fabric industry totally amazing? The quality of the fabrics overwhelms me sometimes. BTW, I really love all your kids’ art on your walls. It’s one of my very favourite things to see.

  4. Shams
    Posted October 25, 2013 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Fabulous, Claudine!!

  5. Posted October 25, 2013 at 2:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    what pretty and unusual fabric you found – thanks for the link to Pollack, too.

  6. Meredith P
    Posted October 25, 2013 at 5:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those curtains are just lovely. Great fabric choice!

  7. Posted October 29, 2013 at 1:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love that you updated your “about me” to outline your . . . parcours. . . (funny, I couldn’t think of the appropriate english word – I get confused like that). I have nothing to say about curtains, or drapery, or sofas, or chairs, since I spent many years dealing with that sort of thing every working day. But I will say that I think I have a solution to 9 year-olds using said furniture as a trampoline. I have to essays on my desk by 9 year-olds describing why it is important to respect furniture, what can happen to furniture that is abused, and what might be the alternatives to engaging in such abusive behavior. I’ll let you know if it sticks.

    • Posted October 29, 2013 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Wow, if my kids wrote essays like that, they would be really short.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

