Grey Marl

greymarl-7245

I have officially reached the point in my sewing learning arc where it is easier, faster, and cheaper to make something than to buy it. Yesterday, I copied my daughter’s favorite trousers in one afternoon. This project was so much more pleasurable than going shopping and trying to find the same exact trousers again. The child is picky about trousers in a way that confounds me.

Today, I made this grey marl long sleeved jersey. It was quick and easy to make, and I think it will look really nice with last weekend’s skirt. I’m one of those mean parents who make my kids do schoolwork in the summer, so I made this while they worked on their workbook pages. So many things will be easier when they are back in school next week. The pattern is adapted from a raglan sleeve top in Burdastyle 2/2010.

back view

back view

12 Comments

  1. akismet-21b053fec805c8711a1f608da8cdd26a
    Posted August 27, 2013 at 1:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    I wanna see your daughter’s pants. Love the top and the skirt you made. And I made Jack do schoolwork over the summer too. 🙂 We’re both mean mommies.

    Elizabeth
    http://www.sewnblog.com

    • Posted August 27, 2013 at 8:49 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’m planning on taking a photo of the trousers, but she just tried them on briefly and told me they were too hot. They are dark, so it’s really hard to photograph.

  2. Posted August 27, 2013 at 5:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    I made my daughter play outside in the UK all summer! She still hasn’t forgiven me.
    Your top and skirt look great. It is wonderful when you can get the effect you want without spending hours shopping – and then get it again, and again… Well done:)

  3. Posted August 27, 2013 at 6:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s a good place to be at when it comes to sewing. I really like the top. The skirt sneak peak photo reminded me of this jacket http://tinyurl.com/l9sshmb

    Oh, and I’ve stumbled on this pic today and immediately thought of you: http://pinterest.com/pin/247627679483200162/

  4. Posted August 27, 2013 at 9:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, I can’t wait until I get to that point. Fun top!

  5. Posted August 27, 2013 at 2:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I couldn’t even get my kid out of her nightgown many mornings this summer, much less get her to do any work. How did you do it?

    Nice top BTW. I’ve been cruising the Acne website for fall stuff. For some reason, I want a little shrunken sweatshirt.

    • Posted August 27, 2013 at 5:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Yours is older than mine. I imagine it will get harder.

  6. Posted August 27, 2013 at 3:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    One day I hope to be to the point where thing made are a little faster and easier. I envy you. By the way, love the skirt! I love the color blocking. Very fashion forward

  7. Posted August 27, 2013 at 5:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a fantastic milestone! Also, I love that top and would wear it all the time.

  8. Posted August 28, 2013 at 9:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Loved reading your first sentence, that’s something I hope to achieve in time because shopping for clothes that fit is quite difficult for me. Shops here cater for the young, both in terms of style and fit 🙂

    • Posted August 28, 2013 at 9:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

      And being also a parent, the part about school work in summer is funny 🙂

  9. Posted September 7, 2013 at 12:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Just knowing that one can eventually get to that point in sewing is what keeps me trying, even if my motivation/time/supply budget only comes in fits and starts…

One Trackback

  1. By Once Again, In a Print « Rolling in Cloth on August 28, 2013 at 1:02 am

    […] « Grey Marl […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

