3 Shades of Menswear Skirt

3shades-7235

It’s a skirt! I’ve been obsessed with the fall fashion mags, as I am every August, and menswear seems to be a big trend. I happen to have some menswear because I bought a wool bundle from michaelsfabrics.com last fall, so I brought them out and picked some to mix together. The brown was actually a pretty small piece left over from another project, and I used the whole thing. It’s always so satisfying to use all of a piece of fabric.

I drafted the pattern myself. If you like it, it would not be all that hard to adapt this design from any yoke skirt pattern.

side without zipper

side without zipper

side with zipper

side with zipper

back view

back view

pocket

pocket

pocket

pocket

14 Comments

  1. mrsmole
    Posted August 26, 2013 at 1:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    What clever color blocking! Love the fabrics too and shape and dainty pocket…two thumbs up!

  2. Posted August 26, 2013 at 2:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    Fabulous skirt with this blocking! And this little pocket is so cute!

  3. Posted August 26, 2013 at 5:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very nice use of your bits of fabric – I can relate to your feelings of pleasure in completely using up those left overs.

  4. Posted August 26, 2013 at 5:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    The mix of fabrics looks great, and also as if the skirt could be worn with so many different tops. Bonus points for using up the very last remnants of the fabric 😉

  5. Posted August 26, 2013 at 9:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Great idea for colour blocking, I’m impressed with the pocket too!

  6. Posted August 26, 2013 at 10:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a clever little pocket! Great skirt.

  7. Shams
    Posted August 26, 2013 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s really cute, Claudine! I love the asymmetry.

  8. Posted August 26, 2013 at 1:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wonderful skirt. Enjoy wearing it – and all the compliments I am sure you will get!

  9. Posted August 26, 2013 at 8:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, I really like this! I never know what to do with menswear fabrics – although I often drool over them while fabric shopping – but this is a great idea! And it’s shades of brown. Never was a better colour family, imho.

  10. Posted August 26, 2013 at 10:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh I like that. That is great for Fall.

  11. Carolyn
    Posted August 27, 2013 at 10:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love this especially the secret pocket! This is a great mix of menswear fabric and will actually work with other fabrics. Will you make it again?

    • Posted August 27, 2013 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! This looks a lot like something that you would make. If I could ever find a suitable venue for selling my work, this would be a good design to sell, but I personally don’t need another skirt like this.

  12. Posted September 4, 2013 at 5:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful skirt. Nice fabric choice and design.

  13. Posted November 4, 2013 at 4:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Lovely!! Thanks for the inspiration – I can see this being a perfect addition to my wardrobe – I love menswear suiting fabrics and the pocket is perfect 😉

One Trackback

  1. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:04 am

    […] jacket and wool skirt, and me at my daughter’s horseback riding lesson. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

