Tweed and Satin and Lace, Oh My (part 1)

satin-tweed-cuff-6823
A few weeks ago when I was browsing my fabric closet, this tweed cashmere and black lace kind of jumped out at me as the perfect fall ensemble. Then later, as I was searching out trim for the jacket, I saw that I had some teeny tiny scraps of brown duchesse satin for the trim on the jacket. It all came together nicely.

First, I’ll discuss the skirt. It’s very basic. I decided on the length (long), and cut the lace in a big rectangle with the selvedge at one long end. I used the entire length that I had. It was maybe around 3 yards. I sewed one vertical seam, gathered it, then attached the elastic waistband. It was a bit of an instant gratification project.

I’m hoping that wearing it with the tweed jacket will detract a bit from the 1980’s-era Madonna vibe of the lace skirt. I plan on wearing black leggings and high black boots with it. I’m kind of going for a take on the perennial fall favorite of equestrian influenced fashion.

satin-tweed-cuff-6836
You can see the hem a bit better in this photo.

5 Comments

  1. Susan Souren
    Posted August 9, 2013 at 1:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    WOW – perfect – lace and tweed. Wish this was mine.

  2. Posted August 9, 2013 at 7:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    lovely! the jacket especially looks very autumn-y.

  3. meesabelle
    Posted August 9, 2013 at 1:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love this! Downton Abbey, 21st century!

  4. Posted August 9, 2013 at 9:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    “Oh my” is right. These are lovely. Congratulations on creating a lovely pairing of these fabrics, and enjoy wearing them.

  5. Posted August 9, 2013 at 10:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is just beautiful! I love how you’ve combined the various fabrics to end up with one stunning outfit!

One Trackback

  1. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:04 am

    […] shirt blogged here; lace skirt blogged here. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

