Some Hand Work

hostess-gift-6754

Summer is always a busy time for me, and this one has been no exception. The kids are home, and we went away for a week to Vermont. Plus it’s really hot, which kind of puts me off thinking about clothing. There’s been some sewing going on, but it’s mostly hand work that I can carry from room to room while I hang out with the kids.

I made this hand-embroidered tea towel with some heavyweight linen and several different kinds of decorative threads. It depicts my friend’s house. It is lovely, and for a while now I have been wanting to render it in embroidery. This is the result. I should have taken the photo without the bow in the way, but it’s too late now as I have already given it to her.

4 Comments

  1. Posted July 30, 2013 at 4:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    Lucky friend! It looks much too nice to use as a tea towel.

  2. Posted July 30, 2013 at 5:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    oh wow! what a pretty embroidery! and the bow gives it even more class.

  3. Posted July 30, 2013 at 5:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s a neat idea! Very nice.

  4. Kristin P.
    Posted July 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful embroidery!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

