Stop Me Before I Shirt Again

shibori-shirt-6219
My shirt compulsion continues.

The inspiration for this shirt is a photo that Shams pinned to her Pinterest page. I thought it was cool. Then I thought, “I could do that.” The pattern is from The Book of Mens Shirts by Ryuichiro Shimazaki. This is the third, or possibly fourth, shirt I have made with this pattern. The upside of making so many shirts is that I’ve gotten really fast at it.

The fabric is a mystery fabric that I believe to be a linen/rayon blend. It was a rather unattractive (on me) shade of peach. I bought it with the intention of dyeing it, so I figured it would be perfect for a tie-dye project. I used Procion dyes from Dharma Trading. I think the color is called something like “Midnight Blue”.

Collar detail

Collar detail

Cuff detail

Cuff detail

back

back

This is how the shirt looked before I dyed it.

This is how the shirt looked before I dyed it.

6 Comments

  1. Shams
    Posted June 21, 2013 at 1:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    HA! My pinterest pages are being stalked. šŸ˜‰

    That looks great! I love shibori and want to play with some, maybe this summer. If it ever arrives.

    • Posted June 21, 2013 at 9:08 am | Permalink | Reply

      Now you know you’re being watched. The technique I used is a little different than the one in your pin, largely because the technique that designer used requires a piece of equipment that I did not have handy.

  2. Posted June 21, 2013 at 10:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    OOOh. this is so neat- love the execution here, the horizontal “stripe” came out really neat!

  3. Posted June 21, 2013 at 3:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Nice! A great twist (ha ha) on a classic.
    I love shirts so much.

  4. Sewer
    Posted June 23, 2013 at 1:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think it’s great to repeat patterns. A good pattern looks great in different fabrications. In addition, nonprofessionals need to practice; they’re not sewing 50 shirts a day or whatever people in a factory make.

  5. Posted June 30, 2013 at 8:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Always, always, you’re an inspiration…something I need to work my way too! Love how you used the tie-dying so effectively.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Slacker No More « Rolling in Cloth on August 31, 2013 at 1:03 am

    […] my tie-dye shirt […]

  2. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:05 am

    […] shibori dyed shirt with white linen trousers ======================================================================= […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

