PatternReview Weekend San Francisco

As you probably know if you read a lot of sewing blogs, last weekend was PatternReview Weekend in San Francisco. I, and 80+ others, had a fantastic time there. Here are some of the highlights.

Shams and me at Twin Peaks

Shams and me at Twin Peaks


On Thursday when I arrived, Shams from Communing with Fabric picked me up at the BART and took me to San Rafael to the Dharma Trading retail store! It was everything I hoped it would be. It’s like an art supply store, but one that only sells supplies for the kind of art that I do! One thing that they sell on their site that it was cool to see in person are the batiking tjaps. They are much larger and heavier than I thought they would be.

cats_in_space_leggings
On Friday, I was wandering about with Elizabeth and Jeannette when we saw a woman wearing the above leggings. Aren’t they epic? It was the most amazing luck that I saw this when I was with 2 people who appreciate this kind of thing as much as I do. If you want them for your own, click on the photo above. For me, it’s enough to know that they exist. I do not have to own them.

image
Saturday was Fabric Shopping Day. I went with a lovely group including Raye Ann, Touran, and Grace. We only went to 2 stores, but we were quite thorough about them. The first store was Stonemountain and Daughter in Berkeley, where I picked up a lovely Pendleton wool and a nubby boucle.

Then we headed for Lacis, also in Berkeley. Lacis is mind-blowing. They have the best selection of fiber arts books that I have ever seen. Previously, the Victoria and Albert Museum bookstore held that place in my mind, but Lacis has more fiber arts titles. They have fantastic tools. I bought a reweaving needle. They have individual frog skins for sale. I will probably forever regret not buying one. AND, ther’s a museum section with some amazing Victorian-era fashions arranged in life-sized dioramas. Above is a photo of me crashing the Victorian deathbed scene.

Additionally, there were classes, eating, drinking, carousing, etc. It was a really lovely weekend, and I am looking forward to next year in Austin.

6 Comments

  1. Shams
    Posted May 1, 2013 at 11:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    It was SO nice to finally meet you, Claudine!! I am SO glad you made it to Stone Mountain and Lacis, two wonderful resources. And I’m glad you found a couple special pieces of fabric! I look forward to seeing you in the flesh again, one day!

  2. Posted May 1, 2013 at 3:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was sad to miss it this year. Sounds like it was a great time. Oh well.

  3. Carolyn
    Posted May 1, 2013 at 7:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Lacis is the most amazing place isn’t it? So glad you got to meet Shams! She’s pretty awesome! Thanks for the report!

  4. Kristin
    Posted May 2, 2013 at 12:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you thank you thank you for sharing cats in space leggings with us! I agree– I am also more satisfied knowing that there is a place for these in the world.

  5. tinarathbone
    Posted May 2, 2013 at 1:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I didn’t meet too many but loved the feeling of being in sewing/fiber arts mind-meld land. We got to StoneM. so late, we missed Lacis: Oh well, something for next time. Will blog about it soonly on Artelicious.
    Fondly,
    Tina in San Diego

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

