Tweed Pullover

tweedpullover-5901
Since it will probably never get warmer in the Northeastern US, I may find myself wearing this top all summer.

The pattern is a fairly new Vogue pattern, 1115. This pattern appeals to me for a couple of reasons. The shoulder/sleeve treatment is stunning, and I really like pullover tops as outerwear. I think it’s nice not to have closures at the center front. Also, there is interesting seaming overall. The fabric is a wool suiting, underlined with silk charmeuse. The wool came from michaelsfabrics.com, and the silk came from London Textiles.

There’s kind of a strangely-placed zipper. After I put it in, I realized is not strictly necessary for me to get the top on and off. However, I may end up glad that it’s there anyway, as it cannot help but make it easier to put on and take off.

There is no small amount of tailoring involved in this project. The welt pockets are a nice touch. All of the seams are flat felled (does that count as tailoring?) The shoulder and sleeve seams are devilishly complicated. It’s a meaty project for those looking for a challenge.

back

back

side view

side view

sleeve opening

sleeve opening

sleeve detail

sleeve detail

unzipped

unzipped

inside-out view, showing silk charmeuse underlining

inside-out view, showing silk charmeuse underlining

inside-out view, showing silk charmeuse underlining.

inside-out view, showing silk charmeuse underlining.

pocket

pocket

pocket

pocket

17 Comments

  1. mrsmole
    Posted April 24, 2013 at 1:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a lot of labor and learning curve! I was impressed enough and then you showed the lining photo! WOW…but with all this fancy footwork and stitching…how does it look on you? Is is comfortable and flattering? Would you make it again in another fabric? It looks a little loose-fitting but should look amazing with all those details.

    • Posted April 24, 2013 at 8:39 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you! It is probably not the most flattering garment, but that’s OK with me. I have only worn it for short periods of time, but I am planning on wearing it on a plane tomorrow. We’ll see how comfortable it is.

  2. Posted April 24, 2013 at 2:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very impressive! It must have been fiddly working with the slippery underlining with all those seams.

  3. Posted April 24, 2013 at 5:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    That looks like a very upmarket version of an artists smock – a garment I like very much. I hope you get lots of use from this (though not at the expense of some much needed sunshine and warmth!)

  4. Posted April 24, 2013 at 8:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    We probably will go from winter to summer this year~ It’s gorgeously made Claudine. I love all the details.

  5. J lynn
    Posted April 24, 2013 at 8:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine, You call this cake? Let them eat cake. The top is amazing. After spending the winter making children’s clothes I am ready to sew something special. You are so inspiring. Thank you for sharing your talent. J. Lynn

  6. kommentar
    Posted April 24, 2013 at 1:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It looks very beautiful. Good job!

  7. Posted April 26, 2013 at 2:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine, I really like this sculptural look. Very very nice. I am off to look at the pattern.

    BTW definitely yes to visiting! We should (fingers crossed) even have a guest house by then.

  8. Posted April 28, 2013 at 3:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    Nice top and beautiful work! I’m happy to have found your blog (through shams) – would have liked to meet you this weekend, but ah well….. hope you enjoyed your visit 🙂

  9. Posted May 1, 2013 at 4:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    I adore this. This is so beautiful!!

  10. Carolyn
    Posted May 1, 2013 at 8:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is such a cool top! Love the fabric choice and the zipper really adds to the uniqueness of the piece.

  11. Posted May 3, 2013 at 3:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Since I saw this pattern on Vogue’s website I have been looking for a review from someone who has actually made it and here it is! It looks great, even better than on the pattern cover picture. I can’t wait to try it now!

  12. ELIZABETH BRADSHAW
    Posted March 28, 2015 at 1:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    How did you go with that darned little 2″ square remnant attached to the underarm? Number 3 of instructions. I am about to mke it for the second time and really can’t understand the isntructions. I see I am supposed to attach it to the outside of the underarm. Am I supposed to turn it to the inside of the underarm section?

    • Posted March 28, 2015 at 8:59 am | Permalink | Reply

      Here’s how I do it. I start with a lining piece that’s much larger than 2″. Maybe a 6″ square. It’s impossible to place a 2″ square and not have it move. I pin my 6″ square to the right side of the garment piece. I mark the stitching line on the wrong side and stitch from the wrong side. I trim my piece to around 2″ square. Then I make a slash bisecting the 2 legs of the triangle represented by my stitching lines. I press the square toward the middle of the triangle, then flip the lining piece to the wrong side, flatten it, and press again.

      This is a pretty standard method of reinforcing corners. I’m sure someone has done a tutorial on it, with photos or maybe a video.

      • ELIZABETH BRADSHAW
        Posted March 28, 2015 at 8:37 pm | Permalink

        Advice much appreciated, the pattern instructions could have been a bit more explicit. I am grateful to you for your advice. I do love this pattern.

  13. bbgrilla
    Posted June 3, 2015 at 9:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m kind of obsessed with this top right now, despite feeling like it probably won’t be a flattering garment for me. My skills are not advanced but I feel like I have to try it anyway, so I appreciate this post so much. It sounds like this video might be helpful for this project, maybe? http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4517/video-conquering-inset-corners

    Also just wanted to say I’m so glad you did memademay. I love seeing your clothes on your actual person and really liked the split picture format of front and back. Thanks!

One Trackback

  1. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:07 am

    […] Top blogged here skirt blogged here ========================================================== […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

