Hot Summer Hoodie

My child is wearing facepaint for reasons that will remain unexplained.

My child is wearing facepaint for reasons that will remain unexplained.


A couple of months ago, I was in Spandex House in New York looking for fabric for gymnastics leotards for my kids. It struck me suddenly that my kids would LOVE this place. Everything there sparkles! So last week, while they were on Spring Break, we went there to pick out stuff for new outfits.

My older daughter picked out this nylon-lycra fabric with a hot floral print that’s ready for Palm Beach. It could be viewed as a tribute to the recently deceased Lilly Pulitzer. I was going to make a zip-up jacket, but she said she would prefer a cardigan style.

I sewed the seams on my serger, which worked just fine, but trying to make buttonholes in this fabric made me crazy. The top thread in my machine would simply not pick up the bobbin thread! If I had had a stretch needle, that would probably have solved my problem, but I did not. I ended up putting a square of silk taffeta on top of the fabric and another underneath, then cutting the silk away. It was a big pain.

I adapted the pattern from a hooded pullover pattern in an old issue of Ottobre. I added the band to finish the center front.

front

front


back

back


button detail

button detail

4 Comments

  1. ellecsews
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 7:59 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a cute cardigan! Great tip on the silk taffeta for buttonholes. Not that I have the courage to make buttonholes in a knit anyways, but one day maybe.

    I love the face paint.

  2. Shams
    Posted April 13, 2013 at 10:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a cute cardigan and she looks very happy wearing it! I agree, buttonholes in a knit – not my preferred way to do it. 🙂

  3. Posted April 16, 2013 at 10:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Adorable cardigan. For the buttonholes, have you tried a washaway (ie sulky) layer on top and one on the bottom. It works beautifully.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

