Bug Skirt

patternmagic-5817

To wear with my Pattern Magic Top, I wanted something a little out of the ordinary. Alexander McQueen did a bee theme for their Spring 2013 collection, which got me thinking about bugs and how cool they are. I thought it would be fun to screen print bugs onto a skirt to wear with my new top. And, indeed, it was fun.

The bug shapes are derived from illustrations in the book Albertus Seba’s Cabinet of Natural Curiosities. I made myself crazy trying to get a finer level of detail from my screen printing screen, but apparantly there is a limit to how fine the lines can be. I wanted the bug wings to appear gossamer, with very fine lines making a network of veins for the wings, but it just was not going to happen that way. The thinnest lines remain rather thick for my tastes, but I adjusted my expectations.

The skirt fabric is a lovely chocolate cotton sateen. I screened the bugs in gold metallic ink.

I lined the skirt with the same silk taffeta the I made the top with. I embroidered a bug in the lining at the center back so it’s easier to tell back from front.

The pattern is a high waisted slight a-line from an older Burdastyle.

Skirt Back

Skirt Back

Skirt Front

Skirt Front


motif on the lining rendered in bobbinwork embroidery

motif on the lining rendered in bobbinwork embroidery


Bug Detail

Bug Detail

Bug Detail

Bug Detail

13 Comments

  1. Posted April 10, 2013 at 6:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love it! And the Pattern Magic top is very impressive.
    I hope you get bundles of compliments every time you wear it!

  2. Posted April 10, 2013 at 6:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love it!
    I hope you get bundles of compliments every time you wear it.

    • Posted April 10, 2013 at 6:39 am | Permalink | Reply

      Sorry – this was sent as I got an error message after the first comment. I still love it though!

  3. Posted April 10, 2013 at 7:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    With a blouse that intricate you really need just the right balance with the skirt- a subtle shape with a pop of wow is just perfect- nice!!!

  4. Posted April 10, 2013 at 7:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    The whole outfit is so balanced. Love both pieces!

  5. akismet-21b053fec805c8711a1f608da8cdd26a
    Posted April 10, 2013 at 8:08 am | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome bugs. Totally love it and envy it. Can’t wait to see it IRL.

    Elizabeth
    http://www.sewnblog.com

  6. Posted April 10, 2013 at 8:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    You’ve been awarded the Lovely Blog award…check it out at http://www.dressed2atee.blogspot.com

  7. Paula
    Posted April 10, 2013 at 11:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    Fabulous! Do you make your own screens for printing? Paula

  8. Posted April 10, 2013 at 1:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love this entire outfit. Your work is creative and inspiring, Claudine! I always enjoy reading your posts. And as much as I’m head over heels in love with McQueen, the bee theme this year didn’t do much for me. Your bugs are great, however, I’m just too squeamish to wear a bug (gem encrusted or otherwise!!) I admire your lack of squeamishness! 🙂

  9. Nancy Karpen
    Posted April 10, 2013 at 4:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s gorgeous Claudine.

  10. Rosie
    Posted April 10, 2013 at 4:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Two beautiful pieces!

  11. Pam
    Posted April 11, 2013 at 4:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the bugs in gold. Do you know Poe’s story The Gold Bug? These appear to have a secret message, too. The whole ensemble is beautiful and evocative.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:07 am

    […] blogged here skirt blogged here […]

  2. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:04 am

    […] magic top; hand printed skirt […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

