Evening Dress — More Detailed Photos

It’s taken me a while to get around to this, but here are some more detailed photos of my evening dress. For some info on my process, please check these posts.

this is the front of the slip. The bottom 2 layers of the skirt are attached to the slip rather than the dress. The black layer is the same silk tulle that the bodice is made from. The edges are finished with bias strips of textured silk.

Back view of the slip. I played around with it quite a bit to get the length right for the tiers.

Some detail of the stitching on the bodice. I attached the strips of silk burnout to the silk tulle by machine, using silk thread. The belt is grosgrain, edged with the same textured silk on the skirt.

More stitching detail

Front detail

detail of the center front at the waist

side zipper. There’s no side seam in the skirt, so I added a facing to accommodate the zipper.

Back View. I like the way the skirt shape turned out. It kind of curves outward from the waist to around knee level, then curves back in.

10 Comments

  1. monaverdour
    Posted October 26, 2012 at 3:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow I’d like to see it on. Looks amazing

  2. Posted October 26, 2012 at 10:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s gorgeous!

  3. Posted October 26, 2012 at 10:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love this, Claudine. Your work is beautiful and brilliant. Thanks for sharing all these photos.

  4. Posted October 26, 2012 at 10:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m in awe. Please post a photo of you wearing it!

  5. Posted October 26, 2012 at 11:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    WOW! What amazing details! Beautiful.

  6. Posted October 26, 2012 at 1:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love seeing the details of your amazing creations!

  7. Posted October 26, 2012 at 4:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is a beautiful example of fine work! Thank you for sharing all those photos, and the procces photos as well

  8. Posted October 26, 2012 at 8:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m very impressed with this project. I hope you’ll show us some pics with you in it – twirling, dancing, moving. It’s wearable art at its best.

  9. Posted October 27, 2012 at 12:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This dress is just amazing! I love how well thought out it is and you can see all the hard work you put into it! Though you know you could wear the slip as a dress alone…Awesome, just awesome!

  10. Kathryn
    Posted November 26, 2012 at 8:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    Breathtaking in its style and construction, Claudine. I’m delighted that you posted more details about this spectacular dress because I was hungry for them. : )

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

