A Small Hostess Gift

That is, a gift for a small hostess. My daughter was invited to a Halloween party tonight, so I made this gift for the little girl who invited her. I like it so much that I think I may make one for myself to wear while I’m giving out trick-or-treat candy.

I made it with a rayon knit. I started with white, and dyed it several different colors. The base is a yellow-green color. I took 2 layers of the knit, sandwiched fusible web in-between, and ironed it to keep the layers together. This makes the fabric just stiff enough to hold the shape. I cut out the mask shape, and quilted it together for more stability. They I cut the petals, stitched around the edges of each petal, and attached to the mask. I put smaller petals in the center around the nose, and larger ones around the eyes. It’s very comfortable to wear.

2 Comments

  1. Shams
    Posted October 26, 2012 at 12:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this, Claudine! Do you dye the fabric as you need it, in tiny amounts? If so, what dyes do you use?

    • Posted October 26, 2012 at 1:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I took 1 yd of fabric, cut it in fat quarters, and dyed it 4 colors. I used Procion dyes from Dharma. I used maybe 20% of my fabric on this mask.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

