Hubris


This shirt is a Father’s Day present for my husband. It turned out completely wearable and not at all strange, which is somewhat miraculous considering that I had far too little fabric and had to match plaids. The fabric was a remnant of linen plaid. It has a great hand: lightweight yet with a lot of body. The woven plaid pattern is extremely complicated, which I like in theory but made it difficult to cut the pieces.

I used the Collette Negroni pattern. The pattern calls for 2 pockets, but there was simply no way that was happening with the amount of fabric I had. To get the one pocket, I had to cut it a smidge smaller and face it with contrast fabric.

To save fabric, I used a contrast solid linen wherever I could. The front facings; undercollar; yoke facing; pocket flap and pocket facings; sleeve facings; and a strip of fabric on the sleeves at the back underarm are all in contrast fabric. I think the contrast fabric actually makes it look more luxe, which is paradoxical since it was an economizing measure.

Anyway, I hope my husband likes it. He needs a button-front shirt that is not a work shirt, and now he has one. After my fabulous Mother’s Day, he probably deserves something better than this, but, well, this is what he’s getting.

Back view

undercollar


pocket


Contrast triangle at the side near the hem. If you make mens shirts and don’t do this, you should. It is so easy and makes the shirt look much more expensive.

16 Comments

  1. Posted June 15, 2012 at 1:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine, the shirt is wonderful! You are right about the contrasting triangle. It really makes a difference. Your husband will love it!

  2. zen
    Posted June 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this shirt looks marvy! the contrast was brilliant! right on sweet sister, it does add to the luxe. your plaid matching, particularly at the pocket, perfection.

  3. jennyklyon
    Posted June 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is fabulous! I love the creative touches the contast fabric adds-class act!

  4. Posted June 15, 2012 at 1:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Such a fabulous shirt!!!He will love it. I love it, and I don’t even know you guys 🙂

  5. Rosie
    Posted June 15, 2012 at 3:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a fabulous shirt! I am sure he’s going to love it!!

  6. Posted June 15, 2012 at 3:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    “completely wearable and not at all strange” – ROFL! Sounds like what I aim for in all my sewing endeavors.

    The shirt does look luxe! And you did an outstanding job with the plaid matching.

  7. Posted June 15, 2012 at 4:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Really nice, Claudine. I looked at RTW shirts for my husband today and was kinda disgusted by how cheap they all look.

  8. Posted June 15, 2012 at 6:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this shirt. Who wouldn’t want a luxe yet economical shirt in their wardrobe. I love all the little touches you added. Happy father’s day to Bernie!

  9. Posted June 15, 2012 at 6:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful shirt!

  10. Posted June 16, 2012 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am truly impressed with your matching skills. Mine are mediocre at best. Your economizing created a shirt that looks truly custom and high end. How could he not like it?

  11. Posted June 16, 2012 at 4:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The pattern matching is incredible. Do you hand baste everything? It is an excellent shirt,and the contrast hem triangle is a very smart detail.

    • Posted June 16, 2012 at 8:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I don’t baste; I just pin. But I cut VERY carefully.

  12. Posted June 17, 2012 at 8:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    gorgeous and I love the little triangle.

  13. Posted June 18, 2012 at 8:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    You did a beautiful job on that shirt. I hope he loved it and you had a wonderful Father’s Day.

  14. Posted June 18, 2012 at 4:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    great job! The details are really nice!

  15. Posted June 19, 2012 at 11:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is gorgeous! Your plaid-matching patience is truly impressive.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Happy Fathers Day! | Two Tools Cooking on June 17, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    […] What’s a cool gift to receive for Fathers day?  Socks?  a new tie?  (full disclosure, I didn’t get this for fathers day, I got this) […]

  2. By Just Like a Dad « Rolling in Cloth on June 19, 2013 at 1:03 am

    […] year, I made my husband a button front short sleeve shirt for Father’s Day. This shirt makes him look so darned Dad-like that this may just become a […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

