Functioning Industrial Machine!

My Singer 107W1. It is in my dungeon. I mean basement.

I just fixed my industrial!  It took me a while (8 years maybe?).  Initially, I thought the problems might be user error.  Then I finally got that there were 3 problems with it: Needle height, which was pretty easy to diagnose and fix; timing, which was easy to diagnose and hard to fix; and the hook, which chewed up the thread so I could only sew maybe 30″ before the top thread broke.  The hook was difficult to diagnose and difficult to fix.

A while ago, I found the Singer 107W1 manual online.  It is useless.  But there’s another, similar machine with a much better manual, which was very helpful.  I ended up taking out the hook, and lo and behold, the metal that it is made of was not completely smooth.  I tried to smooth the hook with a file, which made the problem worse.  This made me think I was on to something.  I waited a day, and while falling asleep I realized that I can paint the hook with nail polish to smooth it out.  So I did.  And it works.  Amazing.

My current project kind of lit a fire under my butt to get this machine working.  It is a king-size quilt.  You can see the work-in-progress on the machine table in the photo above.  All those really looong seams would be painfully boring at home machine speeds.  At industrial speeds, the long seams are kind of fun.

12 Comments

  1. Posted May 26, 2012 at 6:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I had this same exact machine set up! (I’ve also had the same area set up…. does your basement flood too?) Glad you got it all fixed up. 🙂

    I went the other way with mine though and put it back on the treadle – love using it that way!

    • Posted May 27, 2012 at 8:34 am | Permalink | Reply

      You mean you have a 107W1? What are the chances! My dad gave me mine. He picked it out of the trash at his friend’s upholstery shop. I bought the table and motor for it.

  2. Shams
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, those are some impressive handyman skillz!

  3. julieculshaw
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have a Bernina semi-industrial and, like you, I really enjoy the speed. Plus the stitch quality is so much nicer than my other home sewing machine. Enjoy your revived baby.

  4. LisaB
    Posted May 26, 2012 at 9:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats on finally plowing through the issues. I agree. Long seams on industrials are fun!

  5. Posted May 27, 2012 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Your post prompted me to look online for the manual to my Singer 241-12 industrial machine. I found it. I was surprised to see the rated speed is 5000 spm. Even on the long seams of draperies, the speed of my machine is way too fast for me and I put a block under the pedal to prevent me from accidently flooring it and losing control. I love these old industrial machines, they are real workhorses. Your model is much more versatile than the one I have, because it can do zig zag and tacking in addition to straight stitch.

    • Posted May 27, 2012 at 9:29 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’m excited about the zig zag capability. My regular machine is straight-stitch-only, and I’m looking forward to doing some zig zagging. Good luck with your industrial!

    • Posted September 15, 2012 at 9:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I too just received a 241-12 and am looking for a manual for this machine. The only booklet I found was a “Instructions for Using and Adjusting Singer Hig Speed Machines of Class 241.” Is the manual you have different than that? If so, I sure would like to have a copy or link. Can’t wait to get it running again, it has been sitting a while.

  6. Posted May 28, 2012 at 10:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    Good for you! I am impressed with your mechanical abilities. Is there room for it in your sewing room? It seems that it would get a whole lot more use up there now that you’ve got it fixed.

  7. Posted May 28, 2012 at 7:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    And i was proud of myself for changing out the busted tube on my bike! Nice mechanical skillz!

  8. Posted May 31, 2012 at 10:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! I’m impressed! I would have been looking for some strong men (SIL + his friends) to haul it out of the basement and to the repair shop!!!

    • Posted May 31, 2012 at 10:49 am | Permalink | Reply

      LOL the difficulty of moving it is one of the reasons that it did not go to the shop.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

