Tie Dye Stripe Redux

Remember this dress? Even after I stopped looking at it for several weeks, it still had so many problems that I must consider it a wadder. BUT I was still enamoured with the concept, so I figured it was time to try again. I changed many things. The fabric for the new dress is a bottom weight silk twill, which has more weight and less shine than the charmeuse of the previous one. The fit for the new one is slouchy and casual, as opposed to the 12 darts in the other dress. I like the result and I think I will actually wear it outside the house.

The lattice yoke works much better in the slouchier fit. I used a pattern from Burdastyle 2/2012.

I was kind of hemming and hawing about the dye part of the dress, while also reading the book “The New Republic” by Lionel Shriver. I came upon the following: “The throw rug beneath Edgar’s feet included one aberrant purple stripe that, while it looked like a mistake, also electrified the pattern and was the sole reason the rug drew his eye.” Upon reading this sentence, I realized that a purple stripe is exactly what my dress needs.

I tied up my dress, mixed up some purple and green dye, and squirted it on. Voila, a colorful dress!

Front view

back view

pocket. I dyed the dress after it was constructed, so the cotton thread changed color to match the surrounding fabric.

side tab green

side tab purple

I weighted the belt with some glass beads.

detail of the lattice at the yoke

10 Comments

  1. Posted May 21, 2012 at 7:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    Like always this garment is amazing! You are incredibly talented and skilled!

  2. Posted May 21, 2012 at 7:26 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ditto to what Kyle said! It was nice to spend time with you in NYC and see your latest creations in person.

  3. Nancy K
    Posted May 21, 2012 at 7:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    It works! Love the colors.
    What dyes are you using?

    • Posted May 21, 2012 at 8:33 am | Permalink | Reply

      I used the procion dyes from Dharma. It’s a little risky using them on silk, because you can get a color shift, but they are so much less fuss than acid dyes that I take that chance.

  4. akismet-21b053fec805c8711a1f608da8cdd26a
    Posted May 21, 2012 at 8:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love this version. You are so right about the slouchier fit working better for the lattice top. The purple stripe is great touch too.

  5. Posted May 21, 2012 at 9:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks amazing, and is so you.

  6. Posted May 21, 2012 at 9:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    It’s beautiful, and although I really liked the first lattice dress, can see why you prefer this one. I’m going to steal that lattice idea at some point, BTW.

  7. sunnyb64
    Posted May 22, 2012 at 8:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    The book gave good advice–the purple stripe really does add a lot of interest! And I like the yoke.

  8. Posted May 24, 2012 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The lattice is awesome! This dress has a great vibe.

  9. Posted May 27, 2012 at 10:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful!

    What a lovely way to choose the colours.

    I love this lattice yoke idea.

One Trackback

  1. By Me Made May 2012! « Adventures in Couture on May 31, 2012 at 9:06 am

    […] Tie dye dress, blogged here: https://couturearts.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/tie-dye-stripe-redux/ […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

