Slightly less crazy print


Here’s the second wacky print dress I just made. This one is for my older daughter. I decided on a tiered skirt because I made some trim that would look really nice between the tiers. The trim is a home dec silk left over from another project in an orange-y shade the coordinates nicely with the print. I cut a whole bunch of it into 1.25″ bias strips and went to town on the trim.

If you’re going to use trim, use A LOT of it. A bit on the collar or the center front looks like H&M. Loads of trim all over, collar, cuffs, hem, center front, looks rich and interesting.

The fabric is a home dec cotton from Ikea with lots of body, which makes the skirt stand out from the body in a very pleasing way. The print is very modern and nature-y, with birds and butterflies.

The bodice pattern came from the Japanese book Girly Style Wardrobe. My older daughter is almost too big for these books! What to do? I cut the size 130, and the book goes up to 140. I’m hoping she does not grow too much in the next year so I can make her at least one more dress from this book. I drafted the skirt myself. The pattern pieces are slightly curved, which looks more pleasing than a tiered skirt where the tiers are drafted straight. Curved tiers also take more fabric, but I had enough.

Back View

Showing off the flower buttons and pattern matching across the center front.

Checked lining

Here’s my gallery of Ikea fabric dresses. Click on the photo to find out more about the dress pictured:

One of last year's Ikea print dresses. Click on the pic for the blog post about it.

The other of last year's dresses. Click on the photo for more info on this dress.

3 Comments

  1. Carolyn
    Posted February 25, 2012 at 8:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love that you allow your daughters to choose their own fabric so that each dress reflects their personality. These are so pretty and colorful. Love them!

  2. Julie Culshaw
    Posted February 25, 2012 at 8:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    This dress is lovely. Thanks for the tip about the trim, yes lots is definitely the way to go. And I love the fact that you lined the dress, what a nice touch for a little girl.

  3. Posted March 3, 2012 at 12:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my, you are so dedicated! I have never done print matching even on my own clothes, and you’ve done it on two children’s dresses! They are wonderful.

    Re: Tina Fey, it is so amazing to me that she has been married for quite a long time and now has two kids–she was never an oh-so-single late 30s professional woman–but is always spot-on with Liz Lemon and NOT condescending. (I mean, Liz is ridiculous, but not pitiful and not a cartoon.) Liz Lemon is 41 now, as mentioned in the Valentine’s Day episode. I hear the next season will be the last. I wonder if she will get married?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

