Crochet Skirt

.
It’s difficult to explain what posessed me to make a crochet skirt. It’s even more difficult to explain why I like it so much. Perhaps Carolyn is to blame. Or Cate Blanchett. Or Gwyneth Paltrow. But I suppose I should just blame myself. Around this time last year, I made a fur skirt. Perhaps I’m starting an annual strange skirt habit. Maybe I should start a Strange-Skirt-Of-The-Year club.

The colors are very fall, and I finished it just in time to catch the tail end of that season before full-on winter kicks in. I was not all that dedicated to working on it, so it took ages to finish. I think it was August when I started. It was never really a goal-oriented project. More like something to fill the time while I’m waiting to pick up my kids at some event or other.

I learned to make it by watching Youtube videos. It seems that there is nothing you can’t learn from Youtube. I stitched some wide elastic to the top for a waistband.

It’s fairly form-fitting and fairly short. Nina Garcia’s voice keeps going through my head, “Shiny, tight, and short is the quickest way to look cheap.” At least it’s not shiny. And it’s getting less tight the longer I have it on my body.

front

.

Back

.

Crochet detail. If you don't look too closely at each and every motif, it looks OK.

.

The laws of gravity do not apply to crochet skirt wearers.

.

11 Comments

  1. Posted November 22, 2011 at 11:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    i think it’s pretty neat! very autumnal & it looks nice with the boots :o)

  2. Posted November 22, 2011 at 11:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love it! I loved Carolyn’s version too. I wanted to make one too ever since I saw her post. You totally beat me to it. I might make one in purples and blues and silvers if I can learn how to crochet. Maybe we should wear them together!

    E

    • Posted November 22, 2011 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

      That’s a great idea! We can form the Annual Strange Skirt Club!

  3. Posted November 22, 2011 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think you could weave some gold ribbon through the flowers to make it shiny if you want. 🙂

    Elizabeth

  4. Posted November 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it. If only I were younger and thinner.

  5. Posted November 22, 2011 at 5:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks great on you!

  6. Posted November 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh I think this is fabulous! Total crochet skirt envy!

  7. Posted November 23, 2011 at 10:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh I so want to copy you and all the others! At least I can crochet and wouldn’t it be awesome in blacks,whites and grays for casual fridays and date nights. Oh man, now I have to find some yarn to make me one…and thanks for the inspiration because I love your skirt!

  8. Posted November 24, 2011 at 10:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    LOL. Blame whoever you need. This skirt is terrific!

  9. Posted December 4, 2011 at 11:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a cute skirt! I’m a crocheter and I love this skirt. I may need to make one for myself too!

    Great job!

  10. Posted December 4, 2011 at 2:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hehe! Fun skirt. I wish I could crochet that well!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

