A New Skill


Somehow I have managed to get myself involved in the PTO at dd’s school, in charge of Spiritwear. That’s all the stuff that the school sells with the school logo on it. I’ve been doing this since summer. I could rant for several paragraphs about the vendor that we order our screen printed products from, but I’ll spare you that. I am told that last year’s vendor was even worse. What is up with these people? Except for dealing with the vendor, I’m enjoying the spiritwear stuff. It’s a good fit for my skills, and it’s nice to contribute at her school.

And of course, I am always on the lookout for a new fiber-related craft to learn. Enter screen printing! I watched several videos on Youtube about it, and it looked really easy. What they don’t tend to point out in the videos is that watching people screen printing is a bit like watching people typing. If you have never done it before, it’s a long slog from learning where the keys are to 50 words a minute. I went to a tag sale on bag day and bought maybe 50 kid-sized t-shirts to practice on. I’ve been working on my skills every day for 3 weeks, and finally, today, it clicked. The above photo shows some of the fruits of my labor. I did 35 shirts, and there is only one that is too messed up to sell. Not bad.

7 Comments

  1. Posted October 18, 2011 at 3:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, you win the good mommy award. I am so far successfully avoiding any kind of school commitment like that. Your t-shirts are amazing. So what clicked for you or was it just the repetition?

    • Posted October 18, 2011 at 5:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! It gets harder to remain uninvolved when they are in grade school. I think it was just repetition. I am a firm believer in practice.

  2. Shams
    Posted October 18, 2011 at 6:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Impressive! Those do look good! I have tried screen printing, so I know it’s tricky to get a good result.

  3. Posted October 18, 2011 at 8:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree, totally impressive!

  4. Posted October 19, 2011 at 8:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m really impressed with your stick-to-itivness. Glad you found something to do that contributes to the school and your own skill set.

  5. Meg
    Posted October 19, 2011 at 11:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Been there, done that with the whole spiritwear sale and dealing with vendors. After trial and error I found a local man, probably an illegal immigrant, who barely spoke English but could screenprint shirts like nobody’s business, and at a reasonable price. I would definitely attempt learning to screenprint someday, though, as that interests me.

  6. Posted October 19, 2011 at 6:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, what a cool thing to learn to do! Hope your little one is super grateful for such a nice and talented mommy 🙂
    http://www.saysskippy.blogspot.com

One Trackback

  1. By Ava the Sunset Fairy « Adventures in Couture on November 6, 2011 at 9:03 am

    […] get the circles. I taped the stencils to the dress and painted over them with screen printing ink, left over from this project. When the ink dried, I peeled off the masking tape and […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

