More Experimental Dyeing


Normally projects that involve taking a pattern out of the envelope and sewing it up as is don’t really thrill me. Generally I start with a pattern and change it so substantially that it becomes unrecognizable. Vogue 1239 is an exception. I LOVE the sleeve-shoulder treatment. I may be a bit obsessed with shoulders, and the one on this pattern does not disappoint.

The pattern calls for some insane amount of silk taffeta, which I happened to have lying about. However, it was a rather unflattering shade of gold, hence the tie dye effect. I used Dharma brand acid dye in Cayenne, and it came out just about the same color I had pictured in my mind. Nice when that happens.

To do the tie part of the tie dye, I partially assembled the dress, tied and dyed it, then continued with the assembly.

If any of my readers are in New York and interested in improving their tie-dye skills, there’s a class at the Textile Arts Center called Shibori with Indigo that meets on Monday nights in September. It’s in the Village. I’ve signed up for it already.

A few other sewing bloggers have also made this pattern. Catherine Daze made this one, and Shams made this one.

I should also mention that my dress form is a size or 2 larger than I am. I had it made to my measurements around the time I got married, which was 14 years ago now, and my body has, unsurprisingly, changed. It does not pull at the chest when it is on me the way it does on the form.

Side view. Have I mentioned how much I love the sleeve on this dress?


Back view. That line on the top on the right side was a surprise to me. The fabric must have been folded funny when I tied it up.


my dye pot

.

My dye pot. I think it looks funny.

18 Comments

  1. melodia
    Posted August 21, 2011 at 5:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is very beautiful, Claudine. Your creations are so interesting and inspiring. I love this pattern, too, and it looks beautiful made up in the tie-dyed silk.

  2. Shams
    Posted August 21, 2011 at 7:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Really striking, Claudine. I agree, the shoulder sleeve treatment is what attracted me, too. I love your unique pieces! (And that class sounds amazing!)

  3. Posted August 21, 2011 at 8:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it !

  4. Posted August 22, 2011 at 2:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the way you’ve empthasized the bands on the bottom with the dye. Thanks for the shout-out!

  5. Posted August 22, 2011 at 2:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a beautiful dress!! 🙂

  6. Posted August 22, 2011 at 11:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! Love what you’ve done–especially at the sleeve and the mid-section. It’s just beautiful.

  7. Karen Mulkey
    Posted August 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Fabulous!

  8. Posted August 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The custom dying, specific for the shape of the garment, really makes it unique and beautiful. Enjoy the shibori class, I took one at a local art co-operative and really enjoyed it.

  9. Posted August 24, 2011 at 2:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    LOVE the color! And where did you get a custom made body form?

    • Posted August 24, 2011 at 8:54 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I got it at Wolf Form Company in Englewood New Jersey USA.

  10. Posted August 24, 2011 at 8:33 am | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous dress! The colors are really great. I can’t imagine being able to do anything intentional when it comes to tie dyeing!

  11. Posted August 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You are so unafraid! Silk taffeta and a bunch of work invested already? No worries, into the dye pot it goes. Very inspirational. Love the colors and your work is impeccable, as usual.

  12. Posted August 24, 2011 at 7:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Gosh darn it – I was just out there and could have had one made and picked it up! Thank you – that’s awesome. I didn’t even know you could do that.

  13. Posted August 25, 2011 at 6:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very original – you are developing some distinctly Claudine designs using the dying techniques.

  14. Posted August 28, 2011 at 9:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love how you push your creative boundaries…always causes me to look at things differently. Love your version of this dress!

  15. Posted August 29, 2011 at 8:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this dress. You are a dying genius. 🙂

  16. Posted November 24, 2011 at 8:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You create beautiful clothes!

  17. Zeila
    Posted November 26, 2011 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh, it’s exquisite! What a beautiful and creative use of pattern and technique.

One Trackback

  1. By Thanksgiving Finery « Adventures in Couture on November 24, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    […] and dress match. The gold color is Zoya Goldie, the red sparkle is Opi Gettin Miss Piggy With It. The dress is here. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was written by Claudine, posted on […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

