Plaid for summer

.
My vision for my summer wardrobe involves plaid shirts and shorts. I just finished a couple of shirts that will almost certainly be in heavy rotation this summer. One is made of an amazing home dec silk in a wildly complicated plaid. It is unimaginably thick and was a joy to work with. The other is a much more pedestrian cotton seersucker. The seersucker came from Fashion Fabrics Club. They really do say it’s a seersucker, but it’s not really all that pucker-y. The plaid came from Pollack, a home dec fabric company in NYC. They had a warehouse sale about a year ago where I bought this piece. I keep looking to see if they will have another warehouse sale, but have not seen one advertised. Their fabric is stunning.

For a pattern, I used Burda 7/02 110. I have made this pattern once before, many years ago, and I am still wearing the resultant shirt. I changed the sleeve to make it a bit fuller, and I added 1″ to the cuff circumference. I used the same color thread on both so I could sew them in tandem. I used basic shirtmaking techniques, including flat felling all the seams.

I wore the silk one yesterday, and it did not even need to be ironed for the photos. I have a feeling this one will age well.

cotton shirt side

.

Cotton shirt back

.

Cotton shirt front

.

Silk blouse, side view. I messed up the cuffs so they button back to front. Oh, well.

.

Silk blouse back

.

Detail of silk fabric. The weave contains like a billion different colors.

.

12 Comments

  1. Posted June 8, 2011 at 11:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those are both really pretty shirts and I would think they would see a lot of summer wear. I just little short-sleeved and sleeveless plaid shirts in the summer. Your’s are so lovely and I feel cooler already just reading.

  2. Posted June 8, 2011 at 11:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    The home-dec silk plaid fabric made a really lovely blouse. Great summer colors and I like the slight ombre/fade effect the weave gives to the stripes.

  3. Posted June 8, 2011 at 3:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love the silk plaid!!! Super cute. What are you wearing on Friday???

  4. Posted June 8, 2011 at 5:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Both are very cute shirts. I can just see you looking very cool in these with shorts.

  5. Posted June 8, 2011 at 9:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really like those tops and think that they are good additions to your wardrobe. With this heat we’re having, you are definitely going to need them.

  6. Posted June 8, 2011 at 11:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like the plaid silk very much. Its so cold in Sydney right now that I can’t imagine the shorts.

  7. Posted June 9, 2011 at 7:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Two really gorgeous shirts! I especially like the cuff detail on the sleeves. Very cute.

  8. Posted June 11, 2011 at 11:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    I really love the silk one, especially. I wouldn’t normally think of plaid as luxurious, but the fabric definitely makes it so.

  9. Kathryn, aka fzxdoc
    Posted June 12, 2011 at 5:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh I so want that silk plaid. It’s gorgeous. Both blouses are perfect summertime wear. Congrats on doing such a nice job on them.

  10. Shannon
    Posted June 17, 2011 at 2:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love this pattern I’m not familiar with Burda. What is the actual pattern number? To find it would I look under Burda, Burda Style or Burda magazine? Thanks!

    • Posted June 17, 2011 at 8:38 am | Permalink | Reply

      The pattern is from Burda World of Fashion magazine, as it used to be called. It is now called Burdastyle magazine. The issue is July 2002 (quite a while ago). The pattern number is 110. I think if you want the issue, your best bet might be to ask your library for it through interlibrary loan. They might be able to source it for you.

4 Trackbacks

  1. By Me Made June Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on June 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    […] shirt, blogged here; shorts, made by me but […]

  2. By OWOP « Adventures in Couture on March 30, 2012 at 9:26 am

    […] linen trousers blogged here, blouse (under sweater) blogged here  […]

  3. By Me Made May 2012! « Adventures in Couture on May 31, 2012 at 9:05 am

    […] Plaid shirt, blogged here: https://couturearts.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/plaid-for-summer/ […]

  4. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:07 am

    […] shirt blogged here Shorts that I made but did not blog about […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

