Blue Sparkle

.
Somehow, I have finished with spring sewing and am thinking Fall. I blame the fashion calendar, where the fall 2011 shows are still swimming in my brain. My favorite, by far, is Junya Watanabe. It does not get any better than tons of darts and shaping in leather. But the first garment that I decided to use for inspiration is a blue sparkly hoodie from Marc Jacobs. It looks like something that I would wear just about every day.

The original has a great sleeve shape, which I tried to imitate, but have not really succeeded.  Maybe next time.  I know that I could get the right shape using a horizontal seam at the bicep, but I really don’t want a seam there.  I tried to use darts at the bicep to do the same thing, but it just does not really work. 

I lined it in a royal blue silk/cotton and put elastic at the waist. The elastic kind of gives it a drawstring look, but I sewed the elastic down rather than having the ends stick out and be adjustable. The main reason is that I know I have some of those fiddly things that you put at the end of drawstrings to adjust them, but I could not find them. Then I realized that I don’t really tend to adjust my drawstrings anyway, so I could just sew them down.

I experienced all kinds of adventures while sourcing supplies for this jacket. The second adventure took place when I was looking for the zipper. I looked at Daytona Trimmings and Steinlauf and Stoller in New York, and they simply do not carry double separating zippers with metal teeth at either of those places. The guy at S&S told me to go across the street to 244, second floor, and they would have it there. apparently, 244 39th st, second floor, is where the zipper geeks hang. These guys looked like then never leave their zipper cave. But they did have what I was looking for (actually, they had several differnet weights and lengths of double seperating zippers with metal teeth and blue tape to choose from), and for that, I will go back.

The first adventure was finding the fabric, which took me ages. My go-to store in New York when I am looking for any specific fabric is Mood. But when I went into the city on President’s day, Mood was CLOSED! Who knew? So I went to several other stores, and no luck until I hit Rosen and Chadick. They actually had two fabrics that would do. I picked one, which is a cotton, I think. I brought it to be cut, and the person working there said that it was a little discolored along the fold, so she would give me the whole piece (4 yds) for the price of the 2 yards I requested. Then as she was writing it up, she exclaimed, “It’s mulching!” I had never before heard that word used when referring to fabric, but when she held up her hands, I saw that they were all blue from the fabric dye. She ended up giving me the whole 4+ yards for free. Considering it was marked $45/yd, this was quite a deal. I took it home and ran it through my washing machine 4 times, each time with a fresh white dustcloth. The last load, the dustcloth was just slightly grey, so I figured that I got most of the excess dye out. While making the jacket, I did not notice any blue on my hands or elsewhere in my sewing room, so I guess it’s OK.

Now to get to the point of the above story, I am conducting my first ever giveaway on my blog! I am offering the other 2+ yards of sparkly blue quilted cotton to the person who… I can’t think of anything! Ok, 2+ yards of sparkly blue quilted cotton to the person who comes up with the best comment format and leaves a comment in that format. You can pick, say, haiku. Or link to a funny cat photo. Just 2 examples from the blogosphere. Tell me what your comment rules are first, then leave a comment following these self-imposed rules. Stealing rules from another blog giveaway is strongly encouraged. This is the Internet, after all. I’ll randomly pick my favorite and send you the fabric.  United Stated addresses only, please.
.
.
.
Cluseup of the fabric.

I lined it in blue silk/cotton

.

Back View

.

Jacket from Junya Watanabe fall 2011. Photo from style.com

.

Inspiration jacket, photo from style.com

10 Comments

  1. Posted March 19, 2011 at 9:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful! I love sparkly fabrics. It makes me feel my inner Mexican. 🙂

  2. Posted March 19, 2011 at 9:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    Their once was a girl in Bal-TEE-more
    wearing lace curtains
    that hung down to THE floor

    She put tights on her head
    to mimic locks of the dread

    dreaming of fashion she a-DORED.

    ****
    Robin was just going to ask
    finding fabric can be such a task
    scouring store after store
    may she please look no more
    win this, in pleasure she’ll bask

    ****

    It may be embarassing to some
    seeing grown women resort to a pun
    But this fabric’s so great
    There is no debate
    when it comes to puns, sadly, I’ve none.

    But I tried!

    LOL
    I love your work Claudine!!

  3. Carolyn
    Posted March 19, 2011 at 10:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a great jacket. Thanks for sharing the backstory, it makes the jacket even more fascinating. I’m not entering the fabric drawing cause more than enough fabric resides at my house!

  4. Posted March 19, 2011 at 1:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    OK, I live in Canada, so I’m out, but I love Robin’s three rhymes!

  5. Posted March 20, 2011 at 6:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like the whole quirky look you’ve got going on there! Love the shape of the hoodie.

  6. Posted March 21, 2011 at 11:04 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am not feeling particularly clever today, which is a good thing because I don’t need more fabric. Love your hoodie, though–a very glam take on that particular utilitarian item!

  7. Robin
    Posted March 21, 2011 at 8:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Have I mentioned this news to you?
    Admiration, I have much, I do.
    Your ideas, your design sense…
    Your skills, they abound.
    For this fabric, be warned
    It is you I will hound.

    😀

    • Posted March 27, 2011 at 7:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      There once was a woman named Robin
      who sure knew her way with a bobbin
      she won with her rhyme
      fabric she’ll get in good time
      for her efforts are way past what’s common.

  8. Posted April 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine, thank you so much for the fabric and the final rhyme!
    I received it last week and it is glorious.

    To all of you blog readers, I apologize for such aggressive rhyming that I scared you off from this fabric. I try to keep it in check, but now and then I can’t control myself.

    I LOVE this fabric!

    • Posted April 4, 2011 at 4:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Oh, good, I am so glad you received it and you like it. I will tune in to your blog to see what you will make with it.

3 Trackbacks

  1. By Me Made March Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on March 31, 2011 at 10:48 am

    […] charmeuse and velvet striped skirt blogged here. . Lavender jeans blogged here; sparkly hoodie blogged here. . Embroidered dress, blogged here . Short sleeve jacket, blogged here; zebra print skirt, […]

  2. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:07 am

    […] sparkly hoodie blogged here Jeans made from a Jalie pattern, unblogged. […]

  3. By Me Made May 2014 Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on June 1, 2014 at 1:04 am

    […] sparkly jacket worn with Jalie jeans that I never blogged about ============================================================ […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

