Ruffles on my Trousers

These trousers started with this entry on Kingdom of Style. I just had to have trousers with ruffles on the back waist and pockets. I was especially drawn to the way the ruffle goes in at the waist and out at the hips, forming a flattering hourglass shape.

I used Burdastyle 11/09 111 for the pattern. The pattern has 2 front pleats, but what with the bulk of the ruffles, I wanted a little less in the way of pleats, so I pinched one out. I have made this pattern twice before, once in tweed and once in velvet .

I attached the ruffle in 3 phases, after the trousers were constructed but not hemmed. I stitched it to the back waist from the top of the pocket to the top of the other pocket. Then I stitched it over the pocket opening. Then I stitched it to the side seam. When I hemmed the trousers, I caught the ruffle in the hem so it would be finished at the bottom. If I decide that I don’t like the ruffle, I can remove it without harming the trousers.

The ruffle itself is bias cut fabric, unfinished. It may fray a bit after washing, but I think that will look kind of interesting. I used my ruffler attachment for my machine to form the ruffles.

I lined the pockets with 4-ply silk left over from another project, so it feels nice when I put my hands in them.

detail shot

15 Comments

  1. Posted January 3, 2011 at 10:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    I WISH I could put ruffles on my trousers. Those look great!

  2. Posted January 3, 2011 at 12:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    love it!

  3. Posted January 3, 2011 at 12:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh those are fabulous. Now I want a pair.

  4. Posted January 3, 2011 at 12:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    They are great On you. Those of us with hips don’t actually want to add to them. But anyway, they are pretty fabulous.

  5. Posted January 3, 2011 at 4:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    On you, these are fabulous, but I have to agree with Nancy ;(, one would have to start with slim and elegant hips, which is the only thing preventing me from slavish copying. Gorgeous.

  6. Posted January 3, 2011 at 5:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So clever! You are really wearing this trend.

  7. Posted January 3, 2011 at 6:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I haven’t seen pants with ruffles until now. You can pull them off. They look fantastic!

  8. shams
    Posted January 3, 2011 at 8:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What an interesting treatment! It looks *great* on you, though I don’t think many of us could rock those. 😀

  9. Posted January 4, 2011 at 2:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh I do like those. That style would make a cracking pair of evening trousers too.

    • Posted January 4, 2011 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

      Evening trousers! I did not think of that, although it did occur to me that the ruffle is in the same position as the satin stripe on tuxedo trousers. Hmmm, I wonder if I can get away with owning two pairs of trousers with ruffles down the side without it becoming some sort of twisted uniform?

  10. Kathleen
    Posted January 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Now I really love that trouser pattern… After your earlier versions, I coveted the perfect ease: not too full, not too form fitting, perfectly classic without being “maman”. Of course, that is probably a result of your expert fitting and elegant figure;) The ruffles are fab!

  11. Posted January 5, 2011 at 4:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Outstanding and unique. Love, love.

  12. Posted January 6, 2011 at 7:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh, these are amazing. I’m making a note of this this trick of curving the lines from the side seams around the pockets…Though I’m thinking it would be cool with some kind of contrast metallic trim- like mariachi pants, but a little more subtle.

  13. Nick
    Posted January 16, 2011 at 10:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those trousers are awesome–very retrofuturist! I’d wear them if I didn’t think it would get me shot. (Same with the orange sweater combo of your most recent post.

    • Posted January 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

      retrofuturist. What a fantastic word. And please don’t wear them if you think any harm might come to you. I would not want to be responsible for anyone getting shot.

3 Trackbacks

  1. By Me Made March Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on March 31, 2011 at 10:48 am

    […] cardigan blogged here, jeans blogged here. . Sparkly hoodie blogged here; ruffled trousers blogged here. . Fuschia dress blogged here. I took some of the embellishments off in the meantime. . Green […]

  2. By Me Made June Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on June 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    […] Ruffled trousers, blogged here. […]

  3. By OWOP « Adventures in Couture on March 30, 2012 at 9:26 am

    […] blouse blogged here, ruffled trousers blogged here  […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

