Breton-ish stripes

.
The Breton stripe trend of last year kind of passed me by. Right after seeing the movie “Coco Avant Chanel”, I was all prepared to jump on the Breton stripe bandwagon, but it just never happened. Even though I like the look, when I realized how many stores in the mall were carrying these fisherman striped shirts, I just could not bring myself to purchase one.

My Breton stripe breakthrough came a few weeks ago, when Susie Bubble wore this shirt and I said, “I must have it!” Then I read an interview with Susie Bubble in the New York Times style section, and she pointed out that some designers ask her not to publish detail photos because she’s so influential and manufacturers use her blog to decide which knockoffs to produce. And here I am, knocking something off that she wore. Oh, well.

I went to my trusty computer and came up with a nice design that I sent off to Spoonflower. It is so much fun to get fabric printed out that my Spoonflower habit could well become a line item on the monthly budget. The fabric is a blue horizontal and vertical stripe with small reddish-purple dots, and some white bits to keep the whole thing from looking too frenzied. The organic cotton knit from Spoonflower feels fantastic. Thick and spongy and soft. It is for sale here. On the computer screen, the stripes look solid blue. If you are interested in buying it, please look at the closeup photo below to get an idea of what color the stripes are. They are not solid blue. They have small reddish-purple dots.

My initial iteration had the front piece all striped, but when I hung it on my form, it just looked like too much. I should have taken a photo. Then I un-picked the seams and re-cut the front piece with a bit of white at the top. I like it so much better.

Back View

Here's a closeup of the fabric. It is slightly marled so it has more depth than a solid color

10 Comments

  1. Posted December 17, 2010 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a great idea. I wondered when I first saw the top where on earth you’d gotten the fabric, and then of course I started reading. It’s a terrific top.

  2. Posted December 18, 2010 at 12:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great idea! I had the same feeling about the striped tee this year. I’ve loved that look for years but can never bring myself to buy it when it shows up in stores.

  3. Posted December 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a great top! I love that you just design your own fabric when you can’t find the one that you want!

  4. shams
    Posted December 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    A wonderful interpretation, Claudine. I spent quite awhile staring at the fabric you designed on Spoonflower, trying to figure out how I could make it work for me. Problem is, I’m so much larger than you that I’d need larger areas of each pattern – a larger area of stripes, etc etc. But it sure works for you!

  5. Posted December 20, 2010 at 8:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is beautiful! I love all the fabrics you’ve designed!
    Did you design the “checked fabric the same way?

    • Posted December 20, 2010 at 9:53 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! Yes, the checked parts of the design are in the same mix of colors as the stripes.

  6. Posted December 21, 2010 at 1:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great twist on the striped shirt!

  7. Posted December 26, 2010 at 10:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Great top and the fabric is pretty fabulous too. I really like your progression from inspiration piece to your own take on the look.

  8. Posted January 1, 2011 at 8:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a great design! It’s so amazing. Happy New Year Claudine. When are we getting the kids together again?

  9. Posted January 7, 2011 at 5:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a beautiful top, Claudine! I am an avid reader of Susie’s blog, her style is so different and inspiring!

5 Trackbacks

  1. By DIY December Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on January 1, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    […] , with lavender jeans, blogged here . Tweed trousers, blogged here , with striped/checked top, blogged here . . Green print skirt from an old Miyake pattern, unblogged. . Velvet and charmeuse striped skirt, […]

  2. By Me Made March Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on March 31, 2011 at 10:49 am

    […] skirt, blogged here. . Green blouse, blogged here; tan skirt, blogged here. . Stripe/check top, blogged here; ruffled trousers, blogged here. . Green quilted dress, blogged here; white underdress, blogged […]

  3. By Me Made June Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on June 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    […] shirt, blogged here; Liberty print twill shorts, made by me but […]

  4. By Me Made May 2012! « Adventures in Couture on May 31, 2012 at 9:05 am

    […] Top blogged here: https://couturearts.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/breton-ish-stripes/ […]

  5. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:08 am

    […] blogged here; shirt blogged here […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

