Print Jeans

.
In my real life as a suburban mom, white linen trousers are an absolute must-have for spring. Last spring, though, I was completely stumped as to what sort of white linen trousers would be suitable with my wardrobe. Then a few weeks ago, along came the Dries Van Noten Spring 2011 collection, including the most amazing white trousers in existence. Not only that, but they were in a print!

I spent most of an afternoon developing the proper print, then sent it off to Spoonflower to be printed. Ever since I first heard of Spoonflower.com, I have been wanting to order from them. They do custom printed fabric! In small quantities! At reasonable prices! What a great idea for a business. The only problem is, it is harder than you think it should be to come up with a print all on your own. But I managed it this time, anyway.  I used Photoshop to come up with it, but I am not really proficient in Photoshop, so I just kind of poked around until it looked right.  I can’t really tell you what I did, exactly.  But about the fabric.  I ordered the cotton/linen, which is the perfect weight for what I wanted. 

For a pattern, I used the Hotpatterns Trouser Jean.  I’m a bit “meh” about it.  It seems too loose to be tight and too tight to be loose. 

The first few times I wear these trousers, I’m planning on wearing heels, so I hemmed them long.  In the photo, I am wearing 4″ heels.  I will most likely end up hemming them a bit shorter. 

Now I just need to wait for spring to wear them.
.

Side


.

back


.

inspiration photo, from style.com

18 Comments

  1. Posted October 31, 2010 at 11:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    These are fabulous! I love the print!

  2. Posted October 31, 2010 at 11:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Awesome! I love these!

  3. Posted October 31, 2010 at 12:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wonderful! You should wear them as long as possible this fall.

  4. margyh
    Posted October 31, 2010 at 12:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Stunning! You have inspired me to try Spoonflower!

  5. Meredith P
    Posted October 31, 2010 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Exceptionally cool!

  6. Posted October 31, 2010 at 2:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love them! You always make the coolest stuff.

  7. Posted October 31, 2010 at 2:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claudine, these pants and the fabric are fabulous.

  8. Posted October 31, 2010 at 2:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great pants! I’ve found HP pant pattern need serious tweaking. I love your print! I love DVN also.

  9. Posted October 31, 2010 at 2:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These are so cool. I love your design. Yeah! How did you like the spoonflower fabric?

    • Posted November 1, 2010 at 12:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I love it. When I opened the package, it was just what I expected. Which I think is kind of miraculous.

  10. shams
    Posted October 31, 2010 at 3:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    omigosh, these came out great! I love them!!! I love your clever use of Spoonflower’s services. And this are really on-trend, fashion-wise. You were happy with the fabric quality? I have yet to try a Hot Patterns pattern – too bad it was “meh” for you, because those pants are very cute.

    • Posted October 31, 2010 at 5:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

      I am very happy with the fabric quality. It is sort of a light bottom weight, which is just what I expected. I think the Spoonflower people did a good job of describing this fabric.

  11. marciae
    Posted October 31, 2010 at 5:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The jeans look great on you. Since they are a “trouser” jean I think they are perfect! I love the design you did with the fabric.

  12. Posted November 1, 2010 at 6:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Really super, Claudine, as I have come to expect. Will you be printing more fabric?

    • Posted November 1, 2010 at 12:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks! I don’t have plans to do this again, but in my sewing, the design tends to determine the technique. If I think of another design to make that requires custom-printed fabric, I will not hesitate to order from them again.

  13. Posted November 1, 2010 at 12:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These are VERY couture…and from Spoonflower no less…I’m starting a 12-step Spoonflower group cause not only do I like to put up my new designs – something I’ve wanted to do for years, but can also purchase many many cute designs from other folks. Such a deadly sight! Can’t wait for spring!

  14. Posted November 1, 2010 at 4:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Neat pants! I like the print you designed better than what I can see of the Dries Van Noten print.

  15. Posted November 7, 2010 at 9:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those jeans look fantastic!!! That’s a great knock off!!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

