White Corduroy Jacket – Take 2

.

Here is the jacket that I made to list on Etsy.  I took a lot more care with the photos because I hope to convince someone to buy it.  I actually took a whole set of photos, then scrapped them and re-shot.  I think these are acceptable, but still not perfect.  Unfortunately, you can only post 5 photos on etsy, which I did not realize when I was taking the photos.  I must keep that in mind for the future.

It’s pretty similar to the one in my previous post, but in a slightly larger size.  Also, I did not cut the center front and center back pieces on the cross grain.  One of the commenters on my previous post pointed out that no one who does not sew would think that cutting some pieces on the cross would be a fabric saving decision.  That rings true to me.  Perhaps I need to start thinking a bit more like a consumer and rather less like a dressmaker.

Here’s the Etsy link: http://www.etsy.com/listing/59488789/cashmere-blend-corduroy-jacket.  I have two items in my shop now!!  Since this jacket was so much work, it is expensive.  At this point in my Etsy career, I would like take the time to make beautiful things, even though this means that I have to charge more for them.   Perhaps I can find customers who see the value in a beautifully made garment.
.

inside out view. You can see the quilting marks on the lining.


.

Embroidered snail dragon in the place of a tag


.

Front Band Detail


.

Front


.

Cuff Detail


.

Back

9 Comments

  1. Posted October 20, 2010 at 4:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s gorgeous! I love the larger wale you used. I agree with your commenter. A non-sewist wouldn’t be sensitive to that.

  2. Posted October 20, 2010 at 4:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s lovely! I do hope we hear that you have sold it soon a to some lucky gal soon.

  3. Posted October 20, 2010 at 4:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Great piece. I hope that you are success at finding customers that appreciate the beauty of your work.

  4. Posted October 20, 2010 at 6:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Personally I like the contrast of the wale going in different directions, but I can see how some wouldn’t be drawn to that. Either way you did a beautiful job on this jacket, I’m sure someone will be wearing it with pride soon.

  5. Posted October 20, 2010 at 7:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Really lovely, Claudine. I wish you much success with your Etsy Boutique.

  6. Posted October 24, 2010 at 11:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is so wonderful! Good luck on selling it and other garments as they are placed.

  7. Kitty
    Posted October 27, 2010 at 9:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love the jacket! Just out of curiosity, would you take commissions? I’m in LOVE with the smocked Bottega Veneta dress that you wrote about way back when you began blogging, but I’m guessing that the amount of hand-word required for that would make the price absolutely stratospheric…

    • Posted October 28, 2010 at 8:22 am | Permalink | Reply

      I would take commissions. But yes, that dress would be expensive. I will send you an email today.

  8. Sandy
    Posted December 11, 2010 at 10:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love this jacket and admire the skill that went into it. I wish you success in selling it to a very lucky person!

One Trackback

  1. By A Complete 180 « Adventures in Couture on November 9, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    […] as something that is beautiful because it requires a lot of time and technical skill, such as this jacket. Another way to look at good design is a classic, minimal style made up in the best possible […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

