Velvet trouser questions

Cindy said…
I love the fabric that you used. I would love to make something in velvet but stop when I look at the all the types of velvets…poly, cotton, rayon,silk…since I have only looked online, I can’t touch them! Would you recommend home dec cotton velvet for jackets and bottomweight? And poly/silk/rayon for dresses? Sorry for hitting you with these questions!

Hmm, velvet would be a very tough fabric to buy online. For starters, I would never buy a home dec fabric online if I were planning on using it for apparel. Lots of home dec fabrics have a scratchy backing that feels like glue or something, which would be unbearable against the skin. I bought the velvet I used at Designer’s Guild on King’s Road in London, which I’m sure is not helpful at all. I used the same velvet in different colors here and here.

A cotton velveteen would be nice for trousers, but the velvet I used is much plusher and has more sheen than a velveteen. I’m not sure how easy it would be to find a velvet with a cotton backing and rayon pile, which it what I used. The poly/silk/rayon velvets would not be suitable for tailored trousers, but would be great for more flowing trousers. I guess my advice about buying velvet online would be, get a swatch. There are so many different weights and drapes to velvet that it would be impossible to tell from a photo if it would be good for your project.

sharon said…
…ease the back at the inseam” Does that mean that the front inseam is shorter than the back inseam? By how much?

If the pattern is drafted to ease the back inseam, it will say “ease” on the pattern tissue on the back piece at the upper part of the inseam. There will be notches or circles on the pattern tissue, as well, and you can match up the symbols in the front and back and shrink the back to fit. If you fail to do this, you will still be able to wear the trousers, but you really should do it if the pattern is drafted that way.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

