Questions on the Crinkle Dress

The holidays are almost over, and boy, have they been busy! Fun, but a little crazy. Now, I’m getting to the questions that you have posted in the comments on my blog. I will start with questions about my crinkled silk dress.

Marji said…
That is amazing in the simplicity of execution. Thanks for sharing. 
Your work is amazing. And your design aesthetic is your own, and it suits you and I can only think that someone who say something offensive to you is just jealous. 
I think of you as having a “funky chic” aesthetic. 

Back to the execution – have you thought about setting those crinkles using a shibori technique? Otherwise I’m thinking you’re going to have to reset the crinkles everytime you wash the dress.

Thank you for the nice compliment. Yes, I have to re-set the crinkles every time I wash the dress. Not really a big deal. I accordion pleat the dress lengthwise, twist it into a tube, twist the tube in on itself, and tie with a bit of rag. Then I let it dry and toss it into my drawer without un-twisting. I untie it and shake it out before wearing. Definitely easier than ironing.

Katharina said…
Thank you for sharing this technique. I didnt know a dress could be shaped like that. Does it work in any fabric that is likely to wrinkle?

I love the combination with the leggins and shoes. But tell me… how do you manage to wear those with naked feet in november without freezing to death?

You’re welcome. I would only try this with a very lightweight fabric. There are lots of lightweight silks to try. It would probably work with a cotton voile as well. Heavier fabrics would kind of weigh down and not hold the wrinkles well enough. As for naked feet in November, I would only wear this look if I’m not planning on spending much time outside.

Digs said…
What a very interesting garment! Thank you for explaining the construction technique. At the risk of sounding worse than uninformed, does the dress appear bright blue on you because of a top you’re wearing under it, or because in the other pics, where it looks blackish, it’s inside out? And, do you have to twist it up to dry after every washing? And-and, are the sleeves on the bias as well, or just regular?

The dress appearing different colors is the result of taking some pics in natural light and some at night by artificial light. Or it may be that I have access to DH’s extensive array of photography equipment, but I have no idea how any of it really works, so I just take whatever camera and lens is around without considering if it’s the right combo for what I’m trying to do.

The sleeves are on the bias as well. For the dress, I used the whole width of the fabric. For the sleeves, I used half the width, so it was 22″ wide to start with before I made the bias tube.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

