LIttle Black Dress

It dawned on me a couple of months ago that no one has thrown up on me in ages, so I can start wearing wool again! When I saw this pattern, it seemed to me to be the perfect pattern for an LBD. It’s Vogue 1025. The waist on the dress is higher than it looks on the pattern envelope, and I’m not accustomed to wearing high-waisted dresses. I think it may take some getting used to.

The darts on the back were a little strange. It seemed to me that they were not long enough. The released in the small of my back, leaving a lot of extra fabric there, which felt weird. I made the darts a couple of inches longer, and it feels better.

The dress has a waistline seam, which is supposed to be covered with a belt. I’m not sure a belt would work with this dress because the seam is actually a couple of inches above the waist. The belt would keep wanting to slip down. I took some grosgrain and stitched it to the waist, which I think should work OK.

The fabric is a lightweight textured wool crepe. I bought it at a remnant sale at a nice dress shop.

The end product looks very Michelle Obama, IMO.

back view

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

