Plaid Jacket — Pocket Flaps

My new project is a plaid jacket with contrast collar and pocket flaps. The fabric is a fantastic linen plaid with nice spring colors: purple, orange and green. The contrast is a blue necktie silk with white dots. I bought the linen at Joel and Sons, which is a very posh fabric shop. This is the first time I have bought anything there. I figured, I can afford it, and it’s hard to tell how much longer I’ll be able to afford it, so I’d better buy it while I can.

The inspiration for this jacket came from the above photo in March American Vogue. It’s Comme des Garçons Comme des Garçons, which is their more moderately priced and wearably designed line. I cannot find a photo of this jacket anywhere on the Internet. I even went to the Dover Street Market, where they sell CDG, and they did not seem to have it there, either. So I’m winging it.

So far, I’ve done the pockets in the front and they are turning out pretty much like I envisioned them. I LOVE working with plaid. It’s a fun challenge to see how well I can make the patterns match up.

Here’s a closeup of the pocket.

One Trackback

  1. By OWOP « Adventures in Couture on March 30, 2012 at 9:26 am

    […] Plaid jacket, Orion Nebula print blouse, linen trousers. I’m holding my arm in a strange way to show off my outrageous number of cuff buttons. For more info on the jacket construction, look here on the buttons, here on the collar, here on the pocket flaps.  […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

