Collar Question

Joann asked this question:
Claudine I have a question also. I have studied your stunning Chanel jacket and have accessed the article on fringing. I too love a good fringe! My question is regarding the shawl collar which I think you merged with the Claire Shaeffer jacket that does not have a collar. What did you use for the collar? What would you recommend?

Since I’m a sewing geek, I have to point out that it is not a shawl collar, but rather a notched collar. Now on to the question. I drafted the lapel and collar myself. If you have a favorite tailoring book, it should have directions on how to do this. If you don’t have a favorite tailoring book, allow me to recommend Classic Tailoring Techniques: A Construction Guide for Women’s Wear by Roberto Cabrera. I was looking through it last night after I read this question and realized that the collar would have come out better if I had had this book open while I was drafting it. I can’t recommend this book highly enough if you are interested in traditional tailoring.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

