Questions

Bunny left this comment:
Love the thread idea. Will it add bulk to the denier of the thread? I am curious as to how it goes thru the machine. It’s a wonderful idea.

This thread was a big nightmare in the machine. I think it would probably have been awful even if I had not painted it. The width of the thread did not seem to change with the painting, but it was rather bulky to begin with. The bulk combined with the slipperiness of silk made the thread slip out of my tension knob, and I had to put the spool on the spindle with some fabric stuffed on the inside to add tension. I’ll post a photo when I do the topstitching on the front.

Cindy had this question about my fringed cuffs:
This is a crazy question but…how did you fringe your Chanel jacket? Up close, I realize that it isn’t attached. Did you just fringe the ends?

There’s a short article by Kenneth King in Threads 137 about an extremely clever method of fringing tailored garments without bulk or sacrificing the under layers. If you’re reading this blog, you probably have this issue of Threads. He says to stitch the underlinings to the edge that you want to fringe, then press them back and add the next layer of fabric. Topstitch in place and fringe. If you don’t have that issue of Threads, perhaps you could get it from your library.

Here’s the full post about the jacket: http://couturedetails.blogspot.com/2008/09/extreme-fringe.html

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

