Metallic top and skirt


Perhaps it’s time to officially change my opinion of fabric shopping in London. Twice now, I’ve been walking by high-end shops while they are having fabric remnant sales. One was a dress shop that was selling dress fabrics, and one was a home-dec shop selling home dec remnants. At the home dec one, I got 5 pieces between 1 and 2 metres long for £25! The dress one was a while ago, but I recall the deals were pretty good. Shopping for fabric here is a bit more serendipitous than in New York.

This outfit is made from 2 pieces of home dec fabric. The top is from a shiny polyester. Normally I’m a natural fibre snob, but this fabric has a fantastic hand AND, the right and wrong sides are virtually identical. I can’t figure out how they did that, and I love it. The skirt is canvas, probably mostly cotton. I pre-washed both pieces and they came out fine. The home-dec shop where I bought these remnants is right in my neighborhood. I live in fear that I will wear this outfit to a friend’s house and match the sofa and curtains.

The top is from BWOF 8/99 106. I shortened it a bit. It’s a funnel neck top, and the whole thing is cut on the bias, which makes a nice drape. I’ve made this pattern before, and immediately thought of it when I saw the gold fabric.

I’ve been thinking that my skirt wardrobe needs updating, and when I saw the skirts in January BWOF, I knew I had to have some. I just love this skirt pattern! It’s BWOF 1/09 105. It feels completely current. The fabric is a print with some metallic. I added a pocket, as shown in the previous post, and moved the zip to the side. Center front zips on skirts annoy me. I also did a petersham facing. Click on the photo above to get a larger view of the print.

I had to model this outfit myself because my dress form does not have collapsible shoulders, and I could not get the top on it. Almost-5-year-old DD took these pics!!

Cathy Horyn of the New York Times recently described the purpose of couture this way: “to make exquisite, one-of-a-kind clothes using all the various needle crafts.” That’s the best explanation of the word couture that I’ve ever encountered.

This is the petersham I used for the facing. It’s from Daytona Trimmings in New York. They also sell it at VV Rouleaux in London. Petersham is different from regular grosgrain because the edge of petersham is wavy.

To make the facing, wet the petersham under the tap, mold it into the shape you need for the facing, and press dry.

The pressed facing

Applied facing (and cherry-red lining)

I’m going to try to do more how-to in this blog. We’ll see how that works out.

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] shaped the grosgrain to fit over the collar piece. this post contains some instructions about how I did […]

  2. By Me Made May Wrap-Up « Rolling in Cloth on May 31, 2013 at 9:07 am

    […] velvet top blogged here skirt blogged here […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

