Saffron and Red

.
I finished this skirt over a week ago, but am only now getting to my post about it. I have an idea in my mind of exactly what I want the photo to look like, but can’t seem to motivate to actually get it set up and photographed. I’m still hoping to take my dream photo, but for now, let’s just settle for some snapshots.

The fabric is a home dec silk (have I mentioned lately how much I love sewing with home dec silk?) It is just an amazing weave, with a billion different colored threads that settle into a saffron color from a distance. We all need more saffron in our wardrobes, methinks. I bought it about a year ago at a sample sale at Pollack in Soho (New York). I was hoping they would have another sample sale this year, but I have not seen it advertised. The other fabric is a red silk organza. After construction, I dip-dyed it with Jacquard acid dyes. I was going for a marled effect, but I think if I do this again I will try for a more even effect. The color combo makes me think of a Turkish bazaar.

For a pattern, I took a skirt block with 6 darts, combined the back darts so there were only 4 darts, then cut the pattern up through the darts and added the organza pleats underneath. Or something like that. The waist is a straight waistband that sits at my actual waist. I can’t remember the last time I made anything that did not have a shaped waistband.

.

detail of dyeing. You can also see some of the weave.

.

Sheer panels

.

13 Comments

  1. Posted May 5, 2011 at 1:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very cool. I love the color combo and the dye effect! Can’t wait to see the “real” pictures.

  2. Posted May 5, 2011 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was just wondering what you were up to! Glad to see that it was something AMAZING as usual!

  3. frifris
    Posted May 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I really like your recent work (the nebula blouse was fab!!) and this skirt is lovely – you have such a good way of combining fabrics and colours (I like saffron, too, but it looks terrible on me).

  4. Posted May 5, 2011 at 8:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I adore this skirt – love the fire colours and the idea of dip dyeing. I have to admit, I find the idea of dipping fabric into dye quite terrifying.

  5. Kathryn, aka fzxdoc
    Posted May 6, 2011 at 7:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow. Beautiful.

  6. Posted May 6, 2011 at 10:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Very creative!

  7. Posted May 6, 2011 at 4:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    LOVE it. The sheer panels are a nice extra too.

  8. Posted May 6, 2011 at 9:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    NICE! I love the panel idea.

  9. Posted May 7, 2011 at 8:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The skirt is amazing. I love the sheer panels and the dip dyeing. Did you use a dye the same colour as the panels? It is a brilliant idea. I love the organic look at the region between the hem and the original shade of the home dec silk.

  10. Posted May 8, 2011 at 10:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The skirt is just gorgeous….. May have to try this…

  11. Posted May 9, 2011 at 12:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So nice your skirt!

  12. Posted May 9, 2011 at 1:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Your skirt is really gorgeous! I love the vivid colors and the dip-dye effect. The sheer panels are a great touch.

  13. Posted April 9, 2012 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Gorgeous!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Me Made June Wrap-Up « Adventures in Couture on June 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    […] Skirt with sheer panels, blogged here […]

  2. By Using the Good Scraps « Adventures in Couture on November 20, 2012 at 1:05 am

    […] scarf should come in handy as the weather gets colder. The silk lining fabric is left over from This skirt, and the faux fur is left over from this coat. Obviously, there was no pattern involved. I put a […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*